Want to share with your friends too?

30 Jan 2018

ICC World T20 2020 host cities revealed

ICC World T20 2020

Eight cities across Australia- Adelaide, Brisbane, Canberra, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth, and Sydney, have been confirmed as the host cities for the ICC World T20 2020.

For the first time in history, the women's and men's tournaments will be held as stand alone events in the same host country in the same year.

Here is what we know so far.

In context

ICC World T20 2020
Ensuring promotion of women's cricket

Why separate events?

Ensuring promotion of women's cricket

ICC T20 2020 women's tournament is scheduled from 21st Feb-8th March, while the men's edition will run from 18th Oct-15th Nov.

The move to host two stand-alone events is seen as a step towards promoting women's tournament, as it will be staged as a major global event in its own right.

Women's tournament has, so far, been held simultaneously with the men's event.

Aim to create world-record attendance for women's sporting event

Noticeably, the Women's WT20 will conclude on 8th March, the International Women's Day, with an aim to create world-class attendance record for a women's sporting event.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Finals at MCG

8 cities, 13 venues, 26 teams

13 grounds across the 8 major Australian cities will host the grand event as 10 top women's teams and 16 best men's teams will battle it out for the title.

Both the men's and women's T20 2020 finals will receive equal billing, as they both are set to take place at Australia's biggest and finest venue, the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

2018 to be the first stand-alone Women's WT20

While WT20 2020 will be the first time the men's and women's tournament will be held as separate events in the same year, the ICC T20 2018 will be the first stand-alone women's tournament as 2018 will not have a WT20 Men's edition.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline