Asia Cup starts; India wins inaugural match against Bangladesh

24 Feb 2016 | Written by Sripriya ; Edited by Vijaya

India started its Asia Cup journey with a win against Bangladesh at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Batting first, India scored 166 at the loss of 6 wickets with Rohit Sharma contributing half the runs (83).

In response, Bangladesh scored 121 in 20 overs for the loss of 7 wickets with Ashish Nehra taking 3 wickets.

In context: Asia Cup 2016

History The ACC Asia Cup

The ACC Asia Cup is a men's One Day International & Twenty20 International cricket tournament.

It was established in 1983 when the Asian Cricket Council was founded as a measure to promote goodwill between Asian countries.

The Asia Cup was originally scheduled to be held every two years.

The first tournament was held in 1984 in Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates.

Asian Cricket Council (ACC), the regional administrative body

Subordinate to the International Cricket Council, the Asian Cricket council (ACC) is the continent's regional administrative body, and currently consists of 25 member associations.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
2016 Asia Cup to have T20 format

16 Apr 20152016 Asia Cup to have T20 format

The Asia Cup, for the first time will be played in T20 format in the 2016 edition.

The reason for switch in the format is the 2016 T20 World Cup in India.

The tournament will go back to ODI format in 2018 ahead of the 2019 World Cup and revert back to the T20 format in 2020 before the T20 World Cup in Australia.

Most successful teams in Asia Cup

So far, India and Sri Lanka have been the most successful teams to win the Asia Cup winning it five times each. This is followed by Pakistan who won it twice.

29 Jan 2016Asia Cup 2016 to start from 24 February

ACC will hold the Asia Cup 2016 Twenty20 International (T20I) in Dhaka, Bangladesh from 24 February to 6 March 2016.

It will be the 13th edition of the Asia Cup and the fifth to be held in Bangladesh.

Along with hosts Bangladesh and defending champions Sri Lanka (winners in 2014), the tournament will include Pakistan, India and one ICC associate member, UAE.

Format Format of the tournament

The Asia Cup is contested in a round-robin format where each team plays every other team in the tournament.

The 2016 tournament has five participating teams which means a total of 10 matches will be played.

Winners get 2 points and a tie or no result gives one point.

The top two teams in the points table play the tournament final, deciding the winner.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

24 Feb 2016Dhoni's fitness an issue ahead of Asia Cup

Ahead of India's Asia Cup opener against Bangladesh, a cloud of uncertainty over skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni's availability threatened to disturb the side's momentum.

Dhoni suffered a muscle spasm during the team's training session, which prompted BCCI to rush Parthiv Patel as his back-up.

If Dhoni fails to make the fitness cut, resultant shuffle in batting order could see Yuvraj in a crucial position.

24 Feb 2016Asia Cup starts; India wins inaugural match against Bangladesh

1 Mar 2016India books berth in the final

India stormed into the final of the Asia Cup T20 cricket tournament with a comfortable five-wicket win over Sri Lanka.

With Virat Kohli's unbeaten half-century, India scored 142/5 in 19.2 overs, easing past Lanka's 138/9.

Kohli shared two significant partnerships - 54 with Suresh Raina and 51 with Yuvraj Singh, after India was reduced to 16-2 before recovering for a third straight victory.

3 Mar 2016Bangladesh beat Pakistan to meet India in final

Bangladesh exhibited an all-round performance to thrash Pakistan by five wickets in their Twenty20 clash to enter the Asia Cup final.

Winning the toss, Pakistan chose to bat first scoring 129/7 in 20 overs.

Despite a spirited effort by Pakistan's fast bowler Amir, Bangladesh batsmen held nerves and chased down the target.

The hosts will now meet India in the final on Sunday.

Second Asia Cup final for Bangladesh

This is the second time in the history of Asia cup that Bangladesh made it into the final. They last reached the final of the 2012 Asia Cup where they lost to Pakistan.

6 Mar 2016India beats Bangladesh to win Asia Cup T20 final

In the final match of Asia Cup T20 tournament, India comfortably beat Bangladesh and won the cup for the sixth time

Bangladesh managed to score 120 runs at a loss of 5 wickets; India made 122 at the loss of 2 wickets with 7 balls to spare.

The match which started late due to rain was changed to 15-overs per side.