Mumbai team secure their 41st Ranji title

26 Feb 2016 | By Ramya

Mumbai clinched the Ranji Trophy for the 41st time defeating Saurashtra by an innings in the championship finals at Maharashtra Cricket-Association Stadium, Pune.

Saurashtra could only score 235 in their first and 115 runs in their second innings respectively, against Mumbai's 371 runs in their solo innings.

It's for the first time in three seasons that Mumbai has won the title.

In context: The 2015-16 Ranji Championship Tournament

Introduction What is Ranji Trophy?

The Ranji Trophy is a first-class cricket tournament for teams which represent domestic cricket associations in India.

The championship is named after Ranjitsinhji (Ranji), the first ever Indian cricketer who was a part of England and Sussex teams.

The first Ranji tournament was held in 1934.

Currently, there are 27 regional teams in the tournament which represent different states, services and union-territories in India.

1 Oct 20152015-2016 Ranji Trophy

The 82nd cricket season of Ranji Trophy for the year 2015-2016 started on 1 October 2015 and would continue till 28 February 2016.

All the 27 participating teams would be sorted out into 3 groups; A, B and C with 9 teams in each group.

The last Ranji championship was held in 2014-2015, in which Karnataka emerged as champions beating Tamil Nadu.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

17 Feb 2016Mumbai and Saurashta to play Ranji finals

The two semi-finals of the 2015-16 Ranji Championship concluded on 17 February, and Mumbai and Saurashtra emerged as the final two teams to be facing-off each other on 24 February.

Saurashtra beat Assam in the semi-final match to reach the championship finals.

The semi-final match between Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh was drawn, but with first innings lead, Mumbai claimed its place in the finals.

24 Feb 2016Mumbai vs Saurashta Ranji finals, first day

The opening day of the Ranji Finals at the MCA stadium in Pune was dominated by Mumbai's bowling after they won the toss and opted to field.

Saurashtra's Aarpit Vasavada with 77 and Prerak Mankad's 55* runs helped Saurashtra reach the score of 192/8 on the first day.

Mumbai exerted their full bowling-force on Saurashtra and Mumbai's Dhawal Kulkar took 4 for 30 runs.

2015-16 Ranji finals, second day

Saurashtra was all-out for 235 runs and Mumbai’s Shreyas Iyer with 117 runs helped Mumbai score 262 for eight wickets. Saurashtra's Hardik Rathod took three wickets for 44. Mumbai was leading 27 runs when the second day was concluded.

26 Feb 2016Mumbai team secure their 41st Ranji title