Want to share with your friends too?

15 Feb 2018

Pakistan to visit India for 2018 Hockey World Cup

2018 Men's Hockey World Cup

Ending the speculation surrounding their participation in 2018 Hockey World Cup, Pakistan men's hockey team will travel to India later this year in November.

This decision comes amid hostile political ties between the two countries.

This is a welcome return to World Cup action for Pakistan since they failed to qualify for the 2014 edition of the event in Netherlands.

In context

2018 Men's Hockey World Cup
Hockey World Cup

Tournament history

Hockey World Cup

Hockey World Cup began as a 10-nation event in 1971 in Barcelona, Spain.

The tournament, held once in every four years, will see its 14th edition being held in India from 28 November to 16 December, 2018.

Team Pakistan is the most successful team at the World Cup having won four times in the early years 1971, 1978, 1982, and 1994.

Defending champions

Australia are the Hockey World Cup defending champions. They are also three time World Cup winners- 1986, 2010, and 2014, the second most successful team alongside Netherlands. They won it in 1973, 1990, and 1998.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Sole title win

India at the World Cup

Despite having participated in all 13 editions of the World Cup held so far, India have managed a win just once in 1975, where they beat Pakistan to title.

They came close to winning in 1973 but were beaten by Netherlands in final on penalties.

2018 will be the third time when India will host World Cup. India hosted before in 1982 and 2010.

Teams at the 2018 World Cup

Apart from the hosts India, 15 other teams that qualified for the tournament include- Australia, Argentina, Belgium, Netherlands, Germany, England, New Zealand, Spain, Ireland, Canada, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Africa, France, and China.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline