Google Doodle dedicated to WT20

7 Mar 2016 | Written by Vijaya ; Edited by Vaneet Randhawa
ICC T20 World Cup 2016

Google dedicated its doodle to to mark the start of the 2016 ICC World T20 cricket tournament in India from March 8.

The doodle on Google-India's homepage shows a bird's-eye view of a cricket stadium packed with spectators while teams are playing.

Through this, the search engine also provided a direct link to check live scores and schedules of the matches.

In context: ICC T20 World Cup 2016

2007-2014 What is the ICC T20 World Cup?

The ICC World Twenty20 or the T20 World Cup is the international championship of Twenty20 cricket.

The event has generally been held every two years and five tournaments were played so far, with the inaugural event held in 2007.

All the five tournaments had different winners : 2007 - India; 2009 - Pakistan; 2010 - England; 2012 - West Indies; 2014 - Sri Lanka.

ICC Women's WT20 also to be organized

2016 ICC Women's World Twenty20, the 5th ICC WT20 tournament, is scheduled to be held in India from 15 March to 3 April 2016, featuring 10 teams with matches contested in 8 cities. It will run simultaneously with the men's tournament.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Details about the ICC T20 World Cup 2016

7 Mar 2016Details about the ICC T20 World Cup 2016

The 2016 ICC T20 World Cup will be held in India from 8 March to 3 April 2016.

This will be the sixth edition of ICC World Twenty20 and India will host this tournament for the first time.

Bengaluru, Dharamsala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur, Delhi will host matches at the tournament, with the final match to be played at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

16 teams to compete in the tournament

The tournament features 16 teams. The top eight Full Member nations in the ICC T20I rankings (India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri lanka, West Indies) automatically progress to the Super 10 (Main) stage, with the remaining eight teams competing in the qualifying round.

Qualification Qualifying round begins on 8 March

The qualifying round of WT20 begins on 8 March. This round comprises eight teams, divided into two groups of four teams each.

The top team from each group will qualify for the Super 10 stage.

Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman are in Group A; Scotland, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan and Hong Kong are teamed under Group B.

The main round will kick off on March 15.

Mains More about the Super 10 Stage (Second Round)

The second round starts from March 15, with India taking on New Zealand in the first game.

Super 10 stage has two groups. Group I has Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and a qualifier from first round.

India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia and qualifier from first round are teamed under Group II.

The top two teams from each group advance to semi-finals.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

7 Mar 2016Google Doodle dedicated to WT20

11 Mar 2016Pakistan, assured of full security, agrees to send team

Pakistan Interior Ministry finally gave permission for its national cricket team to come to India for the T20 tournament.

Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Home Secretary Rajiv Mehrishi had assured Pakistan High Commissioner to India Abdul Basit of full security to its cricket team coming for the World T20 matches.

Pakistan Cricket Board had been critiqued for finding 'excuses' for causing the delay.

14 Mar 2016Bangladesh, Afghanistan qualify for the Super10

Bangladesh and Afghanistan qualified from the first round to Super 10 stage of the ICC World T20, after finishing on top in their respective groups.

Afghanistan joins England, defending champion Sri Lanka, South Africa and West Indies in Group 1 of Super 10.

Bangladesh on the other hand will play in the Super 10 Group 2 alongside Australia, India, New Zealand and Pakistan.

15 Mar 2016WT20 Super-10 opener: NZ beat India by 47 runs

India which has never won a T20 match against NZ, failed to turn the tide in the opening match of the Super-10 matches in Nagpur.

NZ which won the toss and elected to bat first, made 126 for the loss of 7 wickets.

India fell prey to NZ's spin attack and lost wickets in quick succession were all-out for 79 runs in 18.1 overs.

19 Mar 2016The rivalry continues: India beats Pakistan by 6 wickets

India extended its winning streak against Pakistan in World Cups (both ODIs and T20s) to 11-0, by winning today's match at Eden Gardens, Kolkata by 6 wickets.

In the rain-delayed match which was shortened to 18 overs, Pakistan batting first, managed to score 118 runs for the loss of 5 wickets.

In reply, India scored 119/4 in 15.5 overs with Kohli scoring 55*.