Vivo IPL Season-9 all set to kick start

8 Apr 2016 | Written by Ramya ; Edited by Vaneet Randhawa

The ninth edition of IPL Cricket T20 is all set to be another blockbuster which is scheduled to be conducted from 9 April-29 May 2016.

However, things would be a little different as two of the most successful IPL franchise teams- Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings were suspended in 2015 for two years.

The title sponsor of the 2016 IPL is Vivo Electronics.

In context: IPL 2016-An extraordinary affair

IPL-world’s most popular cricket league

According to Sydney Morning Herald, IPL is the most popular and most attended cricket league, and the sixth most watched sports league in the world. IPL became the first sports event to be broadcast live on YouTube in 2010.

2007 The Indian Premier League T20 Tournament

Indian Premier League is a franchise-based Twenty20 cricket league in India which was founded by the BCCI in 2007.

Since 2008, the tournament is conducted once in a year, which is usually scheduled over the months of April and May.

Franchises can acquire international/domestic players by annual auctions, signing local players, signing uncapped players, trading players or signing replacements for existing players.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Winners of the 8 seasons of IPL

Season 1 of IPL took place in 2008 and the title was lifted by Rajasthan Royals, and subsequently by Deccan Chargers(2009), Chennai SuperKings (in 2010 and 2011), Kolkata Knight Riders(2012), Mumbai Indians(2013), Kolkata Knight Riders(2014), and finally Mumbai Indians(2015).

8 Apr 2016Vivo IPL Season-9 all set to kick start

Eight teams to face-off against each other

IPL Eight teams to face-off against each other

The Vivo IPL season 9, would continue to feature eight teams as two new franchise teams – Rajkot-based 'Gujarat Lions' and Pune-based 'Rising Pune Supergiants' have replaced the two suspended teams.

In the league, a total of 60 cricket matches would be played, which include 56 Group-Level matches and 4 Play-off Matches (two Qualifier Matches, one Eliminator Match, and The Final Match).

DD KXIPPunjab, Delhi teams try hard to make comeback

Delhi Daredevils is owned by GMR Sports.

Paddy Upton coaches the team, which is captained by Zaheer Khan and includes JP Duminy, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Morris, Nathan Coulter-Nile and others.

KPH Dream Cricket owns the Kings XI Punjab team. Sanjay Bangar is the coach of the team.

The team includes Captain David Miller, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Axar Patel and others.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

KKR SRHChanges in Kolkata, Hyderabad teams for IPL-9

Sunrisers Hyderabad is owned by Sun TV Network, whose coach is Tom Moody.

The team includes Captain David Warner, Yuvraj Singh, Shikhar Dhawan, Ashish Nehra, Moises Henriques, Trent Boult among others.

Kolkata Knight Riders is owned by Knight Riders Sports (subsidiary of Shahrukh Khan's Red Chillies Entertainment). Trevor Bayliss coaches the team, which includes Captain Gautam Gambhir, Brad Hogg, and John Hastings among others.

MI RCBMumbai, Bengaluru-heavy weights in league since 2008

​Mumbai Indians is owned by IndiaWin Sports (Reliance Industries subsidiary).

Ricky Ponting is the coach of the team, which includes Captain Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Corey Anderson, Keiron Pollard, Lasith Malinga among others.​

Royal Challengers Bengaluru is owned by Royal Challengers Sports, whose coach is Daniel Vettori.

Virat Kohli captains the team, which includes Varun Aaron, Samuel Badree, Chris Gayle, Kedar Jadhav and others.

RPSG GLNew teams manage to rope in biggies

Rising Pune Supergiants is owned by RP-Sanjay Goenka Group.

Stephen Fleming is the coach of the team, which includes Captain MS Dhoni, Kevin Pietersen, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mitchell Marsh, Ajinkya Rahane and others.

Gujarat Lions is owned by Intex Technologies, whose coach is Brad Hodge.

The team includes Captain Suresh Raina, Dwayne Bravo, Aaron Flinch, James Faulkner, Ravindra Jadeja among others.

9 Apr 2016IPL opens with a sparkling ceremony

A star-studded opening ceremony saw the oath taking by the 8 teams, officially kick-starting the Indian Premier League's 9th season.

Bollywood actors like Katrina Kaif, Ranveer Singh, Jacqueline Fernandez and Punjabi rapper Yo Yo Honey Singh entertained the audiences at the opening gala with their performances

The ceremony also saw a performance by West Indian cricketer Dwayne Bravo with his smash-hit rap 'Champion dance'.