List of firsts in the Indian Premier League


19 Mar 2018

10-years of IPL: First century, first hat-trick, first of everything!

There is a first for everything. Being the first not only gives you a sense of pride but it's a piece of history as well.

11th edition of IPL will start next month and several records have been set in the last decade.

But have you ever wondered who was the first to achieve a feat?

Here is the list of firsts in IPL.

Brendon McCullum

First IPL hundred

First IPL hundred

It didn't take long for the Indian Premier League to see its first hundred.

In the very first game of 2008 IPL, Kolkata Knight Riders batsman Brendon McCullum scored an unbeaten 158 against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

His innings included 13 sixes and 10 fours, propelling KKR to 222/3.

KKR won the match by 140 runs.

Sohail Tanvir

First 5 wicket haul

Pakistan speedster Sohail Tanvir bagged the first 5-wicket haul in the Indian Premier League.

Sohail Tanvir, who represented Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural edition of the tournament, claimed 6 wickets for 14 runs.

This performance remains the best bowling effort in the IPL even after 10 years.

Tanvir's heroics saw CSK being bowled out for 109.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

Lakshmipathy Balaji

First IPL hat-trick

First IPL hat-trick

Lakshmipathy Balaji bagged the first hat-trick in the Indian Premier League.

The Chennai Super Kings bowler claimed a hat-trick in the 31st match of the inaugural season, when he picked up the wickets of Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla and Vikram Singh of Kings XI Punjab in the final over the match.

Chennai Super Kings won by 18 runs.


First super over

First super over took place between KKR and Royals in IPL 2009.

Rajasthan Royals had scored 150 runs for the loss of 6 wickets and in reply, KKR managed to tie the score off the final ball of the innings.

In the super over, KKR scored 15/1 while Yusuf Pathan slammed 18 off 4 balls to seal the win for RR.


The first duck(s) in the IPL

The first duck(s) in the IPL

The first player to be dismissed for a duck was RCB's Balachandra Akhil in the inaugural match between KKR and RCB.

The first player to be dismissed for a golden duck was DC's Chaminda Vaas in the 4th match of 2008 IPL between KKR and DC.

Ajit Agarkar claimed the wicket of Sri Lankan legend.

Glenn McGrath bowled the first maiden over of the IPL

The first maiden over in the IPL was bowled by Australian Glenn McGrath. This feat was achieved by the Delhi Daredevils bowler against Rajasthan Royals in the 3rd match of the IPL.

Rajasthan Royals

First IPL champions

Shane Warne-led Rajasthan Royals were crowned the first IPL champions.

The Royals defeated Dhoni's Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets in a nail-biting match.

RR actually scored the winning run off the last ball of the game.

CSK had set a target of 164 but the brilliance of Yusuf Pathan and Shane Watson ensured that the Royals chased down the target in 20 overs.

Share this timeline


Indian Premier League

IPL 11

Rajasthan Royals

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Most asked questions

Who had got first 50 in IPL?

More questions

Who had got first 50 in IPL?

Asked 2018-03-21 12:13:22 by Rupesh Pandey

Answered by NewsBytes

Next Timeline