Leicester City are the new Champions of England

3 May 2016 | By Vijaya
Leicester's fairytale finish as champions of England

Leicester City won their first English Premier League title, in one of the greatest sporting stories of all time.

With two games still left in the season, the league-leading Foxes secured their place in history when closest rivals Tottenham failed to beat Chelsea.

Tottenham blew their two-goal advantage when goals from Cahill and Hazard sealed the draw for the Blues.

In context: Leicester's fairytale finish as champions of England

History Leicester City: A brief history

Leicester City was founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse Football Club.

They were elected to the Division Two of Football League in 1894 and adopted the name Leicester City in 1919.

Leicester won the League Cup (Capital One Cup) three times and have been FA Cup runners-up four times.

Leicester have spent 48 seasons as a Level 1 English football league team since 1894.

Fall Leicester's fall to League One

Since the formation of Premier League in 1992, Leicester City played in five seasons - 1994-95, 1996-2002, 2003-04, 2014-15 and 2015-16.

The were relegated to Championship in 2002 and went into administration (meaning they went broke) because of the lost television revenue.

They played in Championship from 2004-08.

In 2008-09 they fell one more level down (League One), their only season at Level 3.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Only five clubs have won the Premier League

Until the 2015-16 season, the Premier League title was won only by five clubs since its founding - Manchester united (13), Chelsea (4), Arsenal (3), Mancester City (2) and Blackburn Rovers (1).
Foxes' rise back to Premier League

2014-2015 Foxes' rise back to Premier League

After playing a season in League One, Leicester played in Championship from 2009-2014.

They fought their way back to Premier League in 2014 and survived the season's relegation.

The end of 2014-15 season saw the axing of manager Nigel Pearson and the hiring of the 'tinkerman' Claudio Ranieri.

At the beginning of 2015-16 season, Leicester were at 5000-to-1 odds to win the Premier League.

Vardy and Drinkwater in England squad

Jamie Vardy and Danny Drinwater were rewarded with a selection in the England's ntional squad for their exceptional form and performance playing at Leicester City.

3 May 2016Leicester City are the new Champions of England

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Team Leicester's team of wonder players

Leicester's band of brothers redefined the notion of the whole being more than the sum of its parts.

The team became synonymous with loads of team-spirit, togetherness, hard work and talent.

Members of the team include the likes of Jamie Vardy, PFA Player of the Year Riyad Mahrez, N'Golo Kante, Okazaki, Danny Drinkwater, Albrighton, Huth, Morgan, Fuchs, and Kasper Schmeichel.

First top-tier title for Leicester in 132 years

Foxes became the first club since Nottingham Forest in 1977-78 to win the English top-flight league title for the first time, having only once before -- in 1928-29 -- finished as runners-up in their 132-year history.