Brazil eliminated from Copa America in group stage

13 Jun 2016 | By Vijaya
2016 Copa America Centenario

Brazil was knocked out in the group stages of Copa America after a refereeing blunder sent them to a 1-0 defeat against Peru.

Peru's Raul Ruidiaz netted the game's only goal in 75th minute, appearing to use his arm to score.

Uruguayan referee Andres Cunha confirmed the controversial goal after consultation with fourth official.

Brazil only needed a draw to qualify for the quarter-finals.

In context: 2016 Copa America Centenario

About Copa America Centenario

Copa America is the international football competition to determine the continental champions of South America. It was founded in 1916.

For its 100th anniversary edition in 2016, CONMEBOL (Confederacion Sudamericana de Futbol) partnered with US Soccer and CONCACAF (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football).

Centenario edition will see the participation of all 10 CONMEBOL federations joined by six CONCACAF countries.

2016 Copa America Schedule

United States was scheduled to host the Copa America Centenario from 3 - 26 June. This will be the first time the tournament is hosted outside of South America. Traditionally Copa America is contested by 10 CONMEBOL nations and two outside invitees.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Tournament groups

Groups Tournament groups

The 16 teams were drawn into four groups of four teams each, with each team set to play the other teams in their group once.

Group A - USA, Colombia, Costa Rica, Paraguay; Group B - Brazil, Ecuador, Haiti, Peru; Group C - Mexico, Uruguay, Jamaica, Venezuela; and Group D- Argentina, Chile, Panama, Bolivia.

Top two in each group advance to the knockout round.

Most titles at Copa America

Uruguay has won the most Copa America titles, taking home the trophy 15 times. Argentina issecond with 14 titles and Brazil comes in third with eight championships. Chile is the defending champion having won it in 2015.

13 Jun 2016Brazil eliminated from Copa America in group stage

QFs Qualification for quarterfinals

The top two teams in each group qualify for the quarterfinals of the Copa America.

US and Colombia advanced to the quarterfinals from Group A.

Peru and Ecuador qualified from Group B.

With a match left to play, Mexico and Venezuela qualified from Group C, and Argentina secured its quarterfinals place from Group D.

Chile and Panama played each other for a QF place.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

QF results

In the quarterfinals, United States beat Ecuador 2-1, Colombia beat Peru 4-2, Argentina defeated Venezuela 4-1 and Chile brought down Mexico 7-0, to enter the Copa America Semis.

23 Jun 2016Chile set up Copa America final against Argentina

In what will be a repeat of 2015 Copa America final, Chile set up the title clash against Argentina.

The defending champions advanced into the final, beating Colombia 2-0, in a match delayed more than two hours by thunderstorm.

Earlier Argentina thrashed United States 4-0 in the Semis to reach final.

Colombia will now play the host United States, in the third-place playoff.

27 Jun 2016Defending champions Chile beat Argentina on penalties

Argentina's championship drought continued as Chile, for the second consecutive year, captured the Copa America title.

Both sides were down to 10 men in first-half and the match remained goalless after 120 minutes.

In the shootout, Messi and Lucas Biglia missed penalties for Argentina while the first spot-kick for Chile was missed by Vidal.

In the end, Chile edged Argentina 4-2 in the penalties.


Argentina has not won a major title since the 1993 Copa America. The latest defeat meant a third consecutive loss in the finals of big tournaments including the 2014 World Cup loss to Germany and 2015 Copa America final loss to Chile.