Want to share with your friends too?

16 May 2018

Football: England name a 23-member squad for 2018 World Cup

2018 FIFA World Cup: England squad announced

England have named their World Cup squad for 2018 tournament in Russia.

Gareth Southgate chose his 23-man group, who will board the plane for football's biggest tournament.

The likes of Arsenal's fringe striker Danny Welbeck and Chelsea's Ruben Loftus-Cheek, who was on loan at Crystal Place, have made the cut while Liverpool's Adam Lallana has missed out.

Here's the complete squad.

In context

2018 FIFA World Cup: England squad announced

Three Lions announce their squad using a video

England introduced the selected players in a video. This video was shot at the Wembley as well as towns and cities across England. Several youngsters are seen paying tributes to their idols in this video.

Gareth Southgate snubs Joe Hart

Big names axed

Gareth Southgate snubs Joe Hart

Chelsea captain Gary Cahill has been recalled to the squad to fulfil his role at centre back while Burnley goalkeeper Nick Pope has been trusted with custodian duties.

Former England number one Joe Hart and midfield ace Wilshere have been sidelined.

England are placed in Group G and will begin their campaign against Tunisia on June 18 and will then face Panama and Belgium.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

23-man strong squad

England's complete World Cup squad

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland, Jordan Pickford and Nick Pope.

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold, Gary Cahill, Phil Jones, Harry Maguire, Danny Rose, John Stones, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker and Ashley Young.

Midfielders: Eric Dier, Dele Alli, Jordan Henderson, Fabian Delph, Jesse Lingard and Ruben Loftus-Cheek.

Forwards: Harry Kane, Marcus Rashford, Raheem Sterling, Danny Welbeck and Jamie Vardy.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline