Imran Khan likely to become next Pak PM


26 Jul 2018

Cricketers who turned politicians post retirement

Former Pakistan World Cup winning captain, Imran Khan, had a successful career.

He is still regarded as one of the legends of the game.

Now the fast bowling ace is likely to become the nation's next Prime Minister.

Imran is leading his party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (Movement for Justice) to a possible victory.

Here we look at cricketers who turned politicians post retirement.

Master Blaster

Sanath Jayasuriya- Sri Lanka

Sanath Jayasuriya- Sri Lanka

The legendary master blaster ruled the cricket pitch with his lusty blows.

Sanath Jayasuriya was elected as the Member of Parliament in 2010.

Interestingly, at that time, he was still playing for the national team.

He represented Matara district and then served as Deputy Union Minister of Postal Services.

Later on, he also became Deputy Union Minister of Local Government & Rural Development.

Controversial figure

Mohammad Azharuddin- India

Former India skipper Mohammad Azharuddin's life is full of controversies on and off the pitch.

He represented India in 99 Tests and 334 ODIs. The match-fixing scandal ended his career in an unceremonious fashion.

In 2009, he joined the Indian National Congress Party and went on to become the Member of Parliament from Moradabad constituency.

He is also eager to contest elections in 2019.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


Arjuna Ranatunga- Sri Lanka

Arjuna Ranatunga- Sri Lanka

The former Lankan World Cup winning skipper played 93 Tests and 269 ODIs and was a celebrated personality.

The southpaw enjoyed a career that spanned around 18 years.

Post his retirement, Arjuna Ranatunga decided to try his luck in politics and became a Member of the Parliament of Sri Lanka.

He represented the Gampaha constituency.

Ranatunga was also Sri Lanka's Deputy Minister of Tourism.

Other notable names in the list

Besides these legendary cricketers several other former cricketers tried their hands in politics. Pakistani fast bowler Sarfaraz Nawaz, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Sri Lankan wicket-keeper batsman Hashan Tillakaratne, Indian all-rounder Kirti Azad, West Indies pacer Sir Wes Hall are some other notable names in the list.

Share this timeline

Imran Khan


Pakistan General Elections

Pakistan Politics

Arjuna Ranatunga

Arjuna Ranatunga- Sri Lanka

Deputy Minister

Deputy Union Minister

Former India

Former Pakistan World Cup

Hashan Tillakaratne

Indian National Congress Party

Kirti Azad

Lankan World Cup

Local Government

Mohammad Azharuddin

Mohammad Azharuddin- India

Movement for Justice

Navjot Singh Sidhu

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf

Postal Services

Prime Minister

Rural Development

Sanath Jayasuriya

Sanath Jayasuriya- Sri Lanka

Sarfaraz Nawaz

Sir Wes Hall

Sri Lanka

Sri Lankan

Wes Hall

West Indies

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline