Indians shine at Wimbledon

13 Jul 2015 | By Siripriya

2015 season of Wimbledon ended on a good note for Indians with three champions in Boys' doubles, Ladies doubles and Mixed doubles.

17-year old Sumit Nagal made history to become the 6th Indian to win a GS junior title by winning boys' doubles trophy.

Sania Mirza and Leander Paes won their titles in ladies doubles and mixed doubles respectively, both partnering with Martina Hingis.

In context: Wimbledon and its champions

2015Wimbledon, the most prestigious of all

The Championships, Wimbledon or simply 'Wimbledon' was first held in 1877. It is the oldest tennis tournament in the world and is considered as the most prestigious.

Wimbledon is one of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments and the only one to be played on the game's original surface - grass.

The All England Lawn Tennis Club (AELTC) stages the event.

2015Unique Wimbledon traditions

All the players should strictly wear white at the tournament.

The tournament is patronized by the Royal Family. Until 2003, players curtsied to the members of the Royal Family. This now is only done when His Royal Highness - The Prince of Wales or Her Majesty - The Queen are present.

Wimbledon does not have any sponsor advertising around its courts.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

2015Wimbledon Records

In the Open Era (after 1968), Pete Sampras and Roger Federer with 7 titles each, have won the most at Wimbledon in Gentlemen's Singles.

Martina Navratilova has an all-time record of winning 9 titles at Wimbledon.

Boris Becker is the youngest male player to win the Wimbledon and Maria Sharapova is the youngest female player to win it in the Open Era.

12 Jul 2015Wimbledon Season 2015 - Gentlemen's Singles Champion

World no.1 Novak Djokovic won the 2015 season of Wimbledon beating the grass court legend Roger Federer 7-6, 6-7, 6-4, 6-3.

This makes Novak only the 8th person to defend his title at Wimbledon successfully, after he won it in 2014.

For Novak, this was a 3rd Wimbledon GS, making it 9 Grand Slams(GS) in total. His last GS came at 2015 Australian Open.

Roger Federer - the legend of tennis

Roger Federer holds a record for winning the most number of Grand Slam titles (17) in Men's Singles. He is regarded by many as the greatest tennis player of all time.

Jul 2015Wimbledon Season 2015 - Ladies Singles Champion

Serena Williams won the Ladies Singles Championship beating Garbine Muguruza in straight sets 6-4, 6-4.

Serena, the current world No.1, won her 6th Wimbledon title and a record 21st GS title.

This was a 4th consecutive GS for Serena who won the 2014 US Open, Australian Open and French Open in 2015. This feat was dubbed as 'Serena Slam.'

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

13 Jul 2015Indians shine at Wimbledon

Grand Slams for India

The most successful Indian player has been Leander Paes with 16 GS titles (8 doubles and 8 mixed doubles), followed by Mahesh Bhupathi with 12 GS titles (4 doubles and 8 mixed doubles).