Dinesh Karthik lifts inaugural TNPL Trophy

20 Sep 2016 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
1st edition of Tamil Nadu Premier League concludes

TUTI Patriots captain Dinesh Karthik received the inaugural Tamil Nadu Premier League trophy from N Srinivasan as they beat Chepauk Super Gillies in the final match.

M Ganesh Moorthi of the TUTI Patriots was declared player of the match.

The winners were awarded a prize money of Rs.1 crore while the runners up won Rs.60 lakh.

In context: 1st edition of Tamil Nadu Premier League concludes

TNPL FinalTUTI Patriots vs Chepauk Super Gillies

Batting first, TUTI Patriots scored a whooping 215 runs for the loss of just two wickets. Three half centuries were scored in the innings with the highest score of 82 runs (not out) by Abhinav Mukund. Captain Dinesh Karthik scored 55 runs.

In reply Chepauk Super Gillies could score just 93 runs before they lost all their wickets.

Patriots won by 122 runs.

Four wickets in the very first over

TUTI Patriots bowler Ganesh Moorthi picked up four wickets in the match, and all came in the first over. After taking the first wicket on the second ball of the innings, he scored a hat-trick, taking the other three on the last three balls.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

20 Sep 2016Dinesh Karthik lifts inaugural TNPL Trophy

I dedicate this to team owner: Karthik

Speaking at the post match presentation, Dinesh Karthik said that the team dedicates the win to the team owner. Happy with the win, he added, "I would be surprised if Abhinav Mukund doesn't get an IPL contract very soon."
Highlights of the tournament

20 Sep 2016Highlights of the tournament

Baba Aparajith of VB Thiruvallur Veerans scored the only century of the tournament, scoring an undefeated 118 runs against Karaikudi Kaalai.

The highest and the lowest total were scored in the final match.

A total of 8,823 runs were scored in the 31 matches of TNPL, of which 4508 runs were scored from boundaries i.e. 51 percent of the runs scored.

N Jagadeesan named 'player of the series'

Dindigul Dragons' Narayan Jagadeesan was awarded the "Player of the Series Award." He scored 397 runs, with an average of over 56. He also had 12 dismissals behind the stumps.