Deodhar Trophy: A chance for veterans to shine


23 Oct 2018

Deodhar Trophy: Rahane, DK, Ashwin look to script a comeback

The ICC World Cup 2019 is now only months away and Indian players are looking to make every opportunity count to remain in contention.

India are currently involved in a 5-match ODI series, against West Indies.

Post this, India will play another 13 ODIs in the run-up to the mega event.

What about the veterans? Can they script a comeback? We decode.


Big names looking to make most out of Deodhar Trophy

Big names looking to make most out of Deodhar Trophy

The Deodhar Trophy, that starts from today, will see players like Dinesh Karthik, R Ashwin and Ajinkya Rahane in action.

The core of the Indian ODI side is almost decided, but some places are still up for grabs.

All eyes will be on the trio, who will look to push the current Indian players for a spot.

Further, youngster Prithvi Shaw is in focus.


Difficult for Ashwin to make a return

Ashwin last played an ODI in June 2017.

Since then, wrist spinners Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal have taken over the mantle. They have delivered consistently across the globe.

Ravindra Jadeja was recently called up to replace injured Patel. He grabbed the opportunity with both hands. Ash is unlikely to make a return.

But a strong show in the Deodhar Trophy won't hurt him.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


Like Ash, Rahane unlikely to get a call-up

Like Ash, Rahane unlikely to get a call-up

As Ash faces a difficult phase, similar fate could be in store for Ajinkya Rahane.

Rahane last played an ODI in South Africa this year, but lost his place.

With the management giving the number four slot to Ambati Rayudu, the Indian Test vice-captain finds himself left in the cold.

Rahane has minimal chances of making a comeback.

Further, his inconsistency is a factor.


DK still in the mix to get back in

DK was unlucky as he was dropped for the series against West Indies.

The management decided to hand Rishabh Pant a chance in the middle order.

Interestingly, he had played all the matches in the 2018 Asia Cup in September.

Even though, this is a jolt but DK is still in the mix.

He has the experience and might get a ticket to England.


What about the other players?

What about the other players?

Besides these three names, Prithvi Shaw will be looked upon on how he goes about in the Deodhar Trophy. He has been terrific in Tests.

But with India's top order enjoying an amazing form, Shaw might not be able to make the cut.

The pace bowling unit isn't settled and that's why the performances of Chahar, Siraj, Kaul and Thakur will be monitored.


DK, Iyer to lead India A and India B respectively

India A: Dinesh Karthik (captain/wicket-keeper), Prithvi Shaw, Anmolpreet Singh, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Ankit Bawne, Nitish Rana, Karun Nair, Krunal Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shreyas Gopal, Shams Mulani, Mohammed Siraj, Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddarth Kaul.

India B: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rituraj Gaekwad, Prashant Chopra, Hanuma Vihari, Manoj Tiwary, Ankush Bains (wicket-keeper), Rohit Rayudu, K Gowtham, Mayank Markande, S Nadeem, Deepak Chahar, Varun Aaron, Jaydev Unadkat.

Rahane to captain India C

India C: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Abhinav Mukund, Shubman Gill, Ravikumar Samarth, Suresh Raina, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Papu Ray, Navdeep Saini, Rajneesh Gurbani, Umar Nazir.

Share this timeline

Ajinkya Rahane

Dinesh Karthik

Ravichandran Ashwin

Deodhar Trophy


ODI Cricket

Indian Cricket Team

Domestic Cricket

Abhimanyu Easwaran

Abhinav Mukund

Ambati Rayudu

Ankit Bawne

Ankush Bains

Anmolpreet Singh


Asia Cup

Deepak Chahar

Dhawal Kulkarni


Hanuma Vihari

ICC World Cup 2019


India A

India B

India C

Indian ODI

Indian Test

Ishan Kishan

Jaydev Unadkat

K Gowtham

Karun Nair

Krunal Pandya

Kuldeep Yadav

Manoj Tiwary

Mayank Agarwal

Mayank Markande

Mohammed Siraj


Navdeep Saini

Nitish Rana

Papu Ray

Prashant Chopra

Prithvi Shaw

R Ashwin


Rahul Chahar

Rajneesh Gurbani

Ravikumar Samarth

Ravindra Jadeja

Rishabh Pant

Rituraj Gaekwad

Rohit Rayudu

Shams Mulani

Shreyas Gopal

Shreyas Iyer

Shubman Gill

Siddarth Kaul

South Africa

Suresh Raina

Suryakumar Yadav

Umar Nazir

Varun Aaron

Vijay Shankar

Washington Sundar

West Indies

Yuzvendra Chahal

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline