Ryder Cup all set to kick off

30 Sep 2016 | By Vijaya
Ryder Cup 2016

The 41st edition of Ryder Cup, the most exciting of golfing events, is all set to kick off on Friday, at the Hazeltine National Golf Club, Minnesota, USA.

With a home advantage the US side will look to win their first title since 2008.

In the opening foursomes match, Europe's Justin Rose and Henrik Stenson will take on Jordan Spieth and Patrick Reed.

In context: Ryder Cup 2016

The competitionWhat is the Ryder Cup?

Ryder Cup is one of the most prestigious golfing events, first played in 1927.

The event is held every two years, where 24 of the best players from Europe and the United States go head-to-head in match play competition.

Originally contested between Great Britain and American teams, the Great Britain team was extended to include continental Europe in 1979.

Founder of the Ryder Cup

The event is named after its original sponsor Samuel Ryder, an English businessman who made his fortune by selling herbs and seeds.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Winners over past years

US vs EuropeWinners over past years

Since 1927, American team won the event 25 times as opposed to GB/European team which won 13 times.

Since 1979, the US team won it 7 times and the European team won it 10 times, while also retaining the Ryder Cup once after a tie.

The last three Ryder Cup events - 2010, 2012, and 2014 were won by the European team.

FormatFormat of the competition

The three-day event includes 28 matches, featuring foursomes, four-ball, and Singles.

In foursomes, each 2-man team plays one ball per hole, with players taking turns until each hole is complete. Team with low score on each hole wins that hole.

In four-balls, each player of a 2-man team plays his own ball. The team whose player has the lowest score wins a hole.

Singles match play

In Singles, every match features one player from each team go head on. Player with the lower score on each hole wins that hole. The first two days of competition include 8 four-balls and 8 foursomes, and the third day will see 12 Singles matches.

ScoringHow is the event scored ?

Each match is worth a point and a draw awards 1/2 a point to both sides.

So out of the 28 available points, a team must win a minimum of 14 1/2 points to win the cup.

In case of a 14-14 draw, the winning team from the last Ryder Cup i.e., Europe Team in this case, retains the trophy.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

The teamsWho all are playing?

Davis Love III is American captain and Darren Clarke is Europe's captain.

Team USA: Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Phil Mickelson, Patrick Reed, Jimmy Walker, Brooks Koepka, Brandt Snedeker, Zack Johnson, JB Holmes, Rickie Fowler, Matt Kuchar, Ryan Moore.

Team Europe: Rory McIlroy, Danny Willett, Henrik Stenson, Chris Wood, Sergio Garcia, Rafael Cabrera-Bello, Justin Rose, Andy Sullivan, Matthew Fitzpatrick, Lee Westwood, Martin Kaymer, Thomas Pieters.

30 Sep 2016Ryder Cup all set to kick off

03 Oct 2016US reclaim the Ryder Cup convincingly, with a 17-11 margin

US team clinched the Ryder Cup convincingly, beating Europe 17-11.

Going into final day of the event, Americans led by three points (9 1/2 - 6 1/2).

Out of 12 Singles, US needed five points to bring the title home.

Best memories of the final day include Patrick Reed's thrilling victory over Rory McIlroy and the all-square match between Phil Mickelson and Sergio Garcia.