Want to share with your friends too?

08 Nov 2018

ICC Women's World T20: All you need to know

World T20: Indian eves look to dominate proceedings

The Women's ICC World Twenty20 is all set to kick-off at Guyana from November 9 onwards.

The 15-day mega event sees 10 teams, across the world, battling it out for the ultimate prize.

23 matches are set to be played between November 9-24.

Eight teams qualified for the event automatically.

Two other nations joined via qualifiers.

Here is all that you need to know.

In context

World T20: Indian eves look to dominate proceedings
Aussie women go in as favorites


Aussie women go in as favorites

Australia women's team go into the tourney as favorites.

The Aussies have won the coveted tournament thrice.

West Indies, on the other hand, are the defending champions and given that the World T20 is in the Caribbean, they will look to win it in front of the home crowd.

Besides these two sides, 2009 winners England will also look to dominate proceedings.

Indian eves

Under Harmanpreet, India eyeing to make a dent

India will look to overcome their inconsistency and go all guns blazing.

They are ranked fifth in the world at the moment.

Skipper Kaur will be leading the side for the first time at a global event.

India are rich in their batting department and have some star players in their ranks.

Leg-spinner Poonam Yadav will be leading the bowling attack.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

India to go spin-heavy in the Caribbean

Recently in Sri Lanka, the Indian eves were seen playing with four slower bowlers and one pacer. One might see coach Ramesh fielding a similar side in West Indies, where the pitches will be slower in nature.

India eves squad and a look at WT20 performances


India eves squad and a look at WT20 performances

India squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Tanya Bhatia, Ekta Bisht, Dayalan Hemalatha, Mansi Joshi, Veda Krishnamurthy, Anuja Patil, Mithali Raj, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Pooja Vastrakar, Radha Yadav, Poonam Yadav.

India's performances in World T20 haven't been top notch.

In 2009 and 2010, Indian eves reached the semis.

But since then, they have exited from the group stages thrice.

Key info

India's schedule and where to watch the matches

India open their campaign against New Zealand on November 9.

They face arch-rivals Pakistan on November 11.

On November 15, they will take on Ireland.

The mighty battle against Australia is on November 17.

India are in Group B.

England, South Africa, West Indies, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh form Group A.

Matches can be watched live on the Star Sports network.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline