Bengaluru FC in AFC Cup finals

20 Oct 2016 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
The 2016 AFC Cup

Bengaluru FC became the first Indian team to reach the finals of the AFC Cup after they beat defending champions Johor Darul Ta'zim.

Sunil Chhetri led Bengaluru to win the match 3-1 with the captain scoring twice for the winning team at the Kanteerava Stadium in Bangalore.

They will now meet Iraqi football club Al-Quwa Al-Jawiya in the final match on 5 November.

In context: The 2016 AFC Cup

AboutAsian Football Confederation (AFC) Cup

The AFC Cup is an annual football competition featuring domestic football clubs of the Asian Football Confederation.

The first edition was played in the year 2004 and a total of 32 teams participate every year in the group stage.

Kuwait SC has won the title thrice, most by any club.

Malaysian club Johor Darul Ta'zim Football Club are the defending champions.

2016 AFC Cup

The group stage of the 2016 edition of AFC started on 9 February 2016. 32 teams were divided in eight groups for the group stages. The finals will be played on 5 November 2016.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC at the 2016 AFC

Indian participationMohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC at the 2016 AFC

India's two I-League football teams, Mohun Bagan and Bengaluru FC qualified for the group stages of the 2016 AFC Cup.

Both the teams have previously participated in the tournament.

Mohun Bagan did not go ahead after the group states in 2006 and 2007 while Bengaluru FC was knocked out of the tournament after the 16th round in the year 2015.

Mohun Bagan crashes out of AFC Cup

Mohun Bagan were shown the door in the knock-out stage of the 2016 AFC Cup. The Indian team was edged out by Singaporean club Tampines Rovers 1-2 in the knock-out fixture in Guwahati. This was Mohun Bagan's best performance at the AFC Cup.

20 Oct 2016Bengaluru FC in AFC Cup finals