Hegerberg asked to twerk by Ballon d'Or host


04 Dec 2018

Female Ballon d'Or winner asked to twerk by event's host

Ballon d'Or was historically awarded to men by France Football, and this year was the first time they decided to award the best female footballer of the year.

Ada Hegerberg, the Norwegian footballer, was the recipient, but when she went up to receive the prize, she was asked to twerk by the host.

Understandably, the incident has sparked controversy and outrage.

Here's more.


A glimpse at Hegerberg's career till now

A glimpse at Hegerberg's career till now

Ada Hegerberg is currently playing for France's Olympique Lyonnais, and has already won three consecutive Women's Champions League titles with them from 2015-16 to 2017-18.

In 2016, Hegerberg was awarded the UEFA Best Women's Player in Europe, and in 2017, BBC selected her as Women's Footballer of The Year.

She has won four consecutive league titles with Lyon (2014-18).

Surprisingly, Hegerberg is just 23.


First female Ballon d'Or: Historic moment marred by casual sexism

It is ridiculous that even in 2018 there is not the slightest hesitation in such gala events when it comes to asking the best female footballer of the year to perform a sexually provocative move onstage.

This was the first year Ballon d'Or was being given to women as a sign of equality with their male counterparts and the host managed to mar the occasion successfully.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


The host acted nonchalantly even in his apology tweet

The host acted nonchalantly even in his apology tweet

The host, DJ Martin Solveig, has apologized on Twitter, saying that he is "amazed" and "astonished" by seeing that people have started calling him out for his actions.

So did he not even realize what he said was demeaning to the female athlete in question?

He even tried to turn things around when he said his English was to blame, whereas the question was asked in French.

Fans have come down heavily upon the host


The Ballon d'Or has a history of segregation

Ballon d'Or was first awarded in 1956, and the recipient was Stanley Matthews of the English club Blackpool.

Till 1995, non-Europeans were not considered eligible for the award, and George Weah of AC Milan finally broke through in 1995 as the first African and non-European to win the Ballon d'Or.

In 1997, Brazilian Ronaldo became the first South American to win the prestigious trophy.

Share this timeline

Ada Hegerberg

France Football

Women's Ballon d'Or

AC Milan



Brazilian Ronaldo

Champions League

DJ Martin Solveig

Female Ballon


George Weah

Olympique Lyonnais

South American

Stanley Matthews

Till 1995

UEFA Best Women


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline