FIFA introduces 'The Best FIFA Football Awards'

01 Nov 2016 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
2016 FIFA Awards

After ending six year collaboration with France Football's Ballon d'Or, FIFA will present the 'Best Football Awards' in January next year.

The awards will be give to best male and female players as well as coaches.

The ceremony will take place in Zurich on 9 January 2017.

The short-listed candidates for each award will be announced in the first week of November 2016.

In context: 2016 FIFA Awards

AboutThe FIFA Awards

International Federation of Association Football (FIFA) honours the best football players and coaches every year.

The World Player of the Year was started in the year 1991. It was given to the best male player of the year. However, since 2001, it is awarded to both sexes.

Brazil's Ronaldo and France's Zinedine Zidane have each won the award three times, most by any player.

FIFA Ballon d'Or

From 2010-15, FIFA merged with France Football's Ballon d'Or and gave FIFA Ballon d'Or to the best men's player. The collaboration ended after six years in 2016.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

01 Nov 2016FIFA introduces 'The Best FIFA Football Awards'

FIFA to give away eight awards at Zurich ceremony

Categories of the awardsFIFA to give away eight awards at Zurich ceremony

FIFA will present eight awards in Zurich.

They are - The Best FIFA Men's Player 2016, The Best FIFA Women's Player 2016, The Best FIFA Men's Coach 2016, The Best FIFA Women's Coach 2016, The FIFA Puskás Award 2016 (Goal of the Year), The FIFA Fair Play Award 2016, The FIFA Fan Award 2016, FIFA FIFPro World11 (Team of the Year).

A new 'FIFA Fan Award'

FIFA has introduced a new award to encourage football fans across the world - The FIFA Fan Award 2016. The award will be given to a passionate football supporter after a panel of football experts shortlist remarkable moments throughout the year involving exemplary supporters.

Voting systemFans can vote for FIFA's world player of the year

In a new system to honour the best of football, FIFA has introduced new voting system where fans all over the world will get a chance to vote for their 'World Player of the Year'.

The result of the awards will be decided from the votes of captains and head coaches of all the national teams, media representatives and an online public ballot.