Virat Kohli wins all three ICC awards


22 Jan 2019

ICC Awards: Virat Kohli scripts history after clean sweep

Virat Kohli became the first cricketer in the history to win all the three major awards of the ICC in a calendar year.

He bagged the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year, the ICC Men's Test Player of the Year and the ICC ODI Player of the Year.

He was also named the skipper of both Test and ODI teams.

Kohli's show

Kohli's superb show helps him create the record

Kohli's superb show helps him create the record

Kohli was also named the captain of the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

Kohli scored a staggering 1,322 Test runs at an average of 55.08.

He amassed five centuries in 13 Tests.

He also scored 1,202 runs at an astounding average of 133.55.

Kohli notched six hundreds in 14 ODIs.

He also scored 211 runs in 10 T20Is.

Kohli 2018

Kohli finished 2018 on a high

Kohli finished the year as the best ranked batsman in both Tests and ODIs.

He ended the season as the highest scorer in both forms of the game.

Kohli was one of only two batsmen to score more than 1,000 runs in Tests in 2018.

He was among three players to achieve the same in ODI cricket.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

It feels amazing, says Kohli

"It feels amazing. It's a reward for all the hard work that you do throughout the year. Having recognition at the global level from the ICC is something you feel proud of because you understand that there are many players playing the game," said Kohli.

Sir Garfield Trophy

Second successive Sir Garfield Trophy for Kohli

Second successive Sir Garfield Trophy for Kohli

Kohli had won the Sir Garfield Trophy and ICC ODI Player of the Year awards in 2017.

He won the ICC ODI Player of the Year in 2012.

This time, South African pacer Kagiso Rabada ended as the runner-up to Kohli for the ICC Test Player of the Year award and the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Rashid Khan finished second in the ODI award.

Share this timeline


ICC Awards

Icc Cricket

Indian Cricket Team

ODI Cricket

Test Cricket

Virat Kohli

ICC Cricketer


ICC ODI Player

ICC Test Player

Kagiso Rabada

Rashid Khan

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy

Sir Garfield Trophy

South African


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline