Want to share with your friends too?

Sports
13 Feb 2019

Windies player Shannon Gabriel charged by ICC over homophobic slur

Shannon Gabriel lands in trouble over homophobic comments

The third Test between West Indies and England in St Lucia was marred by a controversy after fast bowler Shannon Gabriel was accused of passing homophobic slurs.

The player has been charged by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for using improper language during an exchange with England skipper Joe Root.

The interaction was picked up by the stump microphones.

Here's more about the incident.

In context

Shannon Gabriel lands in trouble over homophobic comments
Here's what was picked up by the stump microphones

Incident

Here's what was picked up by the stump microphones

According to a report in Sky Sports, England captain Root was heard replying to the fast bowler, "Don't use it as an insult. There's nothing wrong with being gay."

On-field umpires Rod Tucker and Kumar Dharmasena had a word with Gabriel afterwards and he was charged with breaching Article 2.13 of the ICC's Code of Conduct.

Gabriel has been charged, confirms ICC

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

Root

I am not in a position to comment: Root

Root declined to comment about the verbal altercation.

He was asked about the incident on Tuesday, after England won the final Test and according to The Guardian, Root said, "As a player you feel you have responsibilities to uphold on the field and I stand by what I did. The ICC have to handle things and I am not in a position to comment."

England win third Test by 232 runs

England defeated West Indies by 232 runs in the third Test. Root feels that the win will give them confidence going into the Ashes. In the match, England scored 277 and 361/5d, whereas, Windies were bundled for 154 and 252.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Most asked questions

What did Root say?

Why has ICC charged Shannon Gabriel?

What did the stump microphone catch?

Which side won the third Test between West Indies and England?

More questions

What did Root say?

Asked 3 minutes ago by Hansika Banerjee

Answered by NewsBytes

Root declined to elaborate on the specifics of the verbal altercation.

Why has ICC charged Shannon Gabriel?

Asked 3 minutes ago by Aaryan Nair

Answered by NewsBytes

Shannon Gabriel has been charged for language used during the third test against England.

What did the stump microphone catch?

Asked 3 minutes ago by Ridhi Kadam

Answered by NewsBytes

"Don't use it as an insult. There's nothing wrong with being gay".

Which side won the third Test between West Indies and England?

Asked 3 minutes ago by Muhammad Mukopadhyay

Answered by NewsBytes

England won the third Test.

Next Timeline