No opening ceremony for the IPL 2019


22 Feb 2019

There will be no opening ceremony for IPL-2019. Here's why

In the wake of the Pulwama attack, the Committee of Administrators (CoA) has announced that there will be no opening ceremony in the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Instead, the money required to host the ceremony would be donated to the families of the martyred CRPF jawans.

The IPL 2019 is scheduled to begin from March 23.

Here's more.


Senior IPL official proposed idea to the CoA

Senior IPL official proposed idea to the CoA

According to a Hindustan Times report, sources said that a senior IPL official proposed the idea to the CoA during a meeting on Friday.

"With all that has happened it is apt that the board does something for those affected by the terror attack in Pulwama," the source said.

Over 40 jawans were killed in the attack carried out by terrorist organization Jaish-e-Mohammed.

BCCI official expresses grief over the martyrs' death

"Nothing can bring back those who lost their lives but we can, as an organization, take on a little bit of the responsibility to take care of the families of those whose lives have been snatched away," a senior BCCI official said.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

WC clash

CoA made no decision over World Cup clash with Pakistan

Furthermore, during the meeting, the CoA didn't decide over the World Cup clash with Pakistan due to happen on June 16.

It, however, advised ICC members to "sever ties with any nation that is a terrorist hub."

"We are in talks with the government. No decision has been taken on the 16 June match," CoA chief, Vinod Rai, told reporters.

CSK to lock horns with RCB on opening night

Every year the opening ceremony is a pompous event, marking the first game of the season. This year, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) will be battling against the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on the opening night.

Share this timeline


Chennai Super Kings

Committee of Administrators (CoA)

Cricket World Cup 2019


Indian Premier League 2019


Pulwama Attack

Royal Challengers Bangalore


Committee of Administrators

Hindustan Times


Indian Premier League

IPL 2019



Senior IPL

Vinod Rai

World Cup

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline