What happens when ball is pitched outside the pitch area?
When a ball is pitched outside the pitch area, it is generally considered a no-ball.
As per the rule, a ball is considered a no-ball "if the ball bounces not wholly within the 10 foot width of a full pitch, or bounces wholly or partly on an artificial surface next to the pitch, or bounces not wholly on the artificial surface in use."
How did the commentators react?
"That landed off the wicket. That's a no-ball. That did not land on the pitch. That landed outside the return crease, so that's a no-ball. That's not even a hard decision. You can't bowl it there. How has he let that go. It completely confused me. It was almost as if it's a practice ball," the two commentators said during a conversation on-air.