IPL12: Role of opening batsmen will be crucial


16 Mar 2019

IPL 2019: Rating the openers of the eight teams

Opening combination with the bat is a vital factor in T20 cricket, since good batsmen can lay a strong foundation during power-play.

Over the years in the Indian Premier League (IPL), we have witnessed some lethal opening combinations.

Last season, Shane Watson and Ambati Rayudu stole the show for Chennai Super Kings.

Here we rate the openers of each team ahead of IPL 2019.


Watson and Rayudu could define CSK's campaign

Watson and Rayudu could define CSK's campaign

Last term, Watson and Rayudu showed their experience to make a strong impact.

The CSK openers amassed 1,100-plus runs in IPL 11.

Watson led the way for CSK with a superb century in the finale.

What stood out for the two players is that they were consistent throughout.

This year CSK will depend on their flair and they get a 9/10 rating.


Dhawan and Shaw could be the surprise package this time

Prithvi Shaw entertained the fans with some amazing knocks last season.

He scored 245 runs for Delhi Capitals and the youngster is expected to dictate the proceedings.

The 19-year-old will get a new partner in veteran Shikhar Dhawan.

Dhawan joined DC from Sunrisers Hyderabad. He scored 497 runs in IPL 11.

Their combination gets 8.5/10 as they can be a surprise package this term.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


Rahul and Gayle can power KXIP

Rahul and Gayle can power KXIP

Last season, KL Rahul was unstoppable with the bat (659 runs).

The celebrated T20 player got an able support from 'Universe Boss' Chris Gayle.

The 39-year-old Gayle enjoyed a good form against England in ODIs and he will be raring to go.

Gayle hit 368 runs in 11 matches last term.

The two are crucial for KXIP's fortunes and get a rating of 8/10.


Lynn and Narine compliment each other well

KKR will be looking to get the best out of Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine.

Australia's Lynn had a decent campaign after hitting 491 runs.

Narine had his best season with the bat after notching 357 runs.

The southpaw can attack from the word go. This allows Lynn to play his natural game.

Both understand each other well and get a 8/10 rating.


Surya and Lewis could be entrusted upon by MI

Surya and Lewis could be entrusted upon by MI

It remains to be seen whether Mumbai Indians stick with Suryakumar Yadav and Evin Lewis as openers this season.

They looked fresh as a pair last season after Suryakumar was promoted up the order.

He scored 514 runs in IPL 11 and Lewis got 382 in 13 matches.

MI have plenty of options to choose from.

This combination gets a rating of 7/10.


RR will pin their hopes on enigmatic Buttler

Rajasthan Royals will aim to get the maximum out of Jos Buttler before he leaves for World Cup.

His promotion as an opener was a masterstroke, although it happened a bit late.

Buttler powered his way with 548 runs. Joining him will be Ajinkya Rahane, who had a poor campaign.

But Rahane has the attributes to shine.

They get a rating of 6.5/10.


SRH will have a new combination this term

SRH will have a new combination this term

David Warner will join SRH post March 29 and Kane Williamson might miss the start due to injury.

The two are expected to be their main openers once they both join the squad.

Till then Jonny Bairstow and Martin Guptill are expected to open.

Once Bairstow and Warner depart for World Cup, Guptill and Kane will take over.

SRH get 5.5/10 given the changes.


Kohli and Parthiv will need to steady RCB

Royal Challengers Bangalore have the weakest opening combination in IPL 2019.

Skipper Virat Kohli will need to promote himself to open the batting with Parthiv Patel.

There is not much depth if any of these two get injured.

Kohli scored 530 runs last season and is a threat.

Parthiv doesn't have that consistency level to go on.

They get a rating of 4.5/10.

Share this timeline

Ajinkya Rahane

Ambati Rayudu

Chris Gayle

Chris Lynn

Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League 2019


IPL 12

IPL 2019

Jos Buttler


KL Rahul


Parthiv Patel



Shane Watson

Sunil Narine

Virat Kohli


39-year-old Gayle


Chennai Super Kings

David Warner


Delhi Capitals

Evin Lewis

IPL 11

Jonny Bairstow

Kane Williamson

Martin Guptill


Mumbai Indians

Prithvi Shaw


Rajasthan Royals

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Shikhar Dhawan

Skipper Virat Kohli


Sunrisers Hyderabad

Suryakumar Yadav

Universe Boss

World Cup

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline