IPL 2019: MCC deems Jos Buttler's 'Mankading' legal


27 Mar 2019

IPL 2019: Jos Buttler's mankading was 'legal', says MCC

On Monday, IPL 2019 witnessed its first major controversy with Kings XI Punjab's captain Ravichandran Ashwin mankading Jos Buttler.

In the same light, the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has given its verdict on the issue.

While many fans deemed what Ashwin did was against the 'spirit of the game', the MCC has termed his action and the subsequent dismissal 'legal' as per the laws.

The story

Buttler's Mankading was the turning point of the match

Buttler's Mankading was the turning point of the match

It all happened during the 13th over, while Ashwin was on his run-up to bowl to Sanju Samson, when Buttler left his crease at the non-striker's end, even before Ashwin had released the delivery.

Ashwin didn't complete his delivery and promptly noted action of Buttler to clip the bails.

The umpire referred it upstairs, where the third umpire, after reviewing it, declared Buttler out.


Know all about MCC

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), based in London, with its headquarters being the Lord's Cricket Ground, is the oldest cricket club in the world.

The club has been responsible for framing and formulating the cricketing laws ever since the inception of the game.

These laws are duly noted and followed by the International Cricket Council, across all formats of the game, around the globe.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me

MCC's verdict

MCC: Buttler's 'mankad' dismissal not against the 'Spirit of Cricket'

MCC: Buttler's 'mankad' dismissal not against the 'Spirit of Cricket'

While the world was split as to whether the action by Ashwin was against the spirit of the game, the MCC, apart from terming this act and the dismissal 'legal', it also said that the dismissal was not against the game's spirit.

The MCC also defended the TV umpire, who it believes made the correct interpretation of the law as he declared him out.

Giving warning to the batsman not in the law book

The statement by MCC read, "It has never been in the Laws that a warning should be given to the non-striker and nor is it against the Spirit of Cricket to run out a non-striker who is seeking to gain an advantage."

MCC's message

Bowlers must act within timeframe outlined for Law 41.16

Aside from defending the incident, the MCC also said that it was up to both the teams to ensure that the play is happening within the laws and the game's spirit.

It also told the bowlers to act within the designated time-frame of the law to inflict the mankading, aside from warning the batsmen to not take unfair advantage by leaving the crease early.

The Mankading Law: 41.16.1 (as per MCC rulebook)

If the non-striker is out of his/her ground at any time from the moment the ball comes into play until the instant when the bowler normally would have been expected to release the ball, the non-striker is liable to be run out.

Share this timeline

2019 Indian Premier League



Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League 2019

Indian Premier League Match

Indian Premier League Score


IPL 12

IPL 2019

Ipl Indian Premier League

Ipl Match

Ipl Match 2019

Ipl Score 2019

IPL Teams

Jos Buttler

Jos Buttler- Rajasthan Royals

Kings XI Punjab


Live Cricket Ipl

Live Match Ipl



Mankading In Cricket

Mankading Law

Cricket Ground

International Cricket Council

Law 41


Marylebone Cricket Club


Ravichandran Ashwin

Sanju Samson


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Most asked questions

Which country does Jos Buttler play for?

Who won the match between RR-KXIP?

Where is ICC's headquarters located?

Has Buttler been ever Mankade before?

More questions

Which country does Jos Buttler play for?

Asked 2019-03-27 12:32:10 by Charvi Pillai

Answered by NewsBytes

Jos Buttler plays for England.

Who won the match between RR-KXIP?

Asked 2019-03-27 12:32:10 by Charvi Yadav

Answered by NewsBytes

KXIP beat RR by 14 runs in Jaipur during IPL 2019.

Where is ICC's headquarters located?

Asked 2019-03-27 12:32:10 by Trishla Bose

Answered by NewsBytes

ICC's headquarters is located in Dubai, UAE.

Has Buttler been ever Mankade before?

Asked 2019-03-27 12:32:10 by Paridhi Shah

Answered by NewsBytes

Yes, Buttler was Mankaded before in 2014 against Sri Lanka in an ODI.

Next Timeline