Russell's brilliance sees RCB lose fifth consecutive match


05 Apr 2019

IPL 2019: KKR beat RCB, here are the records broken

Royal Challengers Bangalore faced their fifth consecutive defeat in the 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019.

The Virat Kohli-led side lost against Kolkata Knight Riders at home.

Virat Kohli (84) and AB de Villiers (63) helped RCB get to 205/3.

In reply, KKR chased down the target with Andre Russell smashing a 13-ball 48*.

Here are the records broken.

RCB amass 16th total of 200-plus runs in the IPL

This is RCB's 16th total of 200-plus in the IPL. On 14 occasions, it has come while batting first and twice it has happened while chasing. Also, 12 of the 200-plus scores have now come in Bengaluru. This was RCB's maiden 200-plus total against KKR.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


Virat Kohli smashes a host of records

Virat Kohli smashes a host of records

Virat Kohli surpassed the 150-run mark in IPL 2019 (162).

Kohli is now the leading run-scorer in the history of the IPL (5,110 runs).

He went past Suresh Raina (5,086).

The 30-year-old smashed his 35th career IPL fifty.

He equalled Raina and is one short of Gautam Gambhir (36).

The RCB skipper went past the 450-mark in career IPL fours (452).


RCB batsmen plunder some interesting feats

Kohli and Parthiv Patel amassed 64 runs for the opening wicket.

This was RCB's maiden score of 50-plus for the first wicket in IPL 2019.

Kohli and AB de Villiers added 108 runs for the second wicket.

ABD lit up Bengaluru with a 32-ball 63. It was his 30th career IPL fifty.

He is also just four hits away from registering 200 IPL sixes.

Kohli stats

Kohli gets an IPL fifty after seven innings

Kohli gets an IPL fifty after seven innings

Kuldeep Yadav dismissed Kohli caught and bowled. This was the third occasion in the IPL where Kohli got out in this fashion.

Ashish Reddy for SRH (2013) and Dhawal Kulkarni for RR (2015), were the other two bowlers to dismiss Kohli like this.

Kohli got an IPL fifty after seven innings.

Nitish has five IPL wickets out of which three have come against RCB.

Kohli and his tryst with records

KKR players notch some new feats

Sunil Narine picked up his maiden wicket in IPL 12. He equalled R Ashwin in terms of IPL wickets (113). Chris Lynn notched his highest score this season (43). Robin Uthappa (33) needs three more to surpass David Warner (4,278) in terms of IPL runs.


How did the match pan out?

RCB maximized from the start on a flat batting deck.

After the early momentum, Kohli and ABD lit up Bengaluru with some magnificent batting display.

Kohli and ABD smashed 14 fours and six sixes between them.

Marcus Stoinis (28*) provided the acceleration at the death.

In reply, KKR had a strong start, but let-arm spinner Pawan Negi hit back.

Russell then powered KKR.

Share this timeline

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline