IPL-2017 player details


20 Dec 2016

BCCI releases list of 140 players retained for IPL-2017

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has released the names of the 140 players of Indian Premier League who have been retained by their franchises.

Another list of players who were not retained by the franchises was also released. There were some high profile players in this list, such as Kevin Peterson, Mitchell Johnson, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel.

Delhi Daredevils

Major release happens in the Delhi team

Major release happens in the Delhi team

Delhi Daredevils have not retained their million dollar cricketer Pawan Negi, who was bought by the team for Rs.8.50 crore in IPL auction 2016.

The team has also released Imran Tahir and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Among the retained players are JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Zaheer Khan, Amit Mishra and Mohammed Shami.

Having used Rs.44.5 crore, DD now have Rs.21.5 crore for upcoming auction.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Only 14 players retained by KKR

Kolkata Knight Riders have retained only 14 players from their current squad and now have Rs.19.75 crore remaining for the auction.

The team has released Brad Hogg, Morne Morkel, Jason Holder, Shaun Tait and John Hastings among others.

KKR now have 14 players, which include four overseas cricketers and it will be one of the busiest teams at the auction.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

RCB release 10 players

One of the biggest teams of the IPL, Royal Challengers Bangalore have retained most of its big names. They have released 10 players. Varun Aaron, Parvez Rasool and Kane Richardson are a few players who have been released.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Defending champs retain its core team

Defending champs retain its core team

The defending champions of IPL, Sunrisers Hyderabad have retained most of its team members.

SRH have released star players Eoin Morgon and Karn Sharma. T Suman, Aditya Tare and Ashish Reddy are the three uncapped players who were released.

With Rs.20.9 crore in their purse, SRH have 17 members in its team, out of which five are international players.

Rising Pune Supergiants

Pune team to have a major re-shuffle

Rising Pune Supergiants had a disappointing debut at the 2016 IPL. They have released many major players to re-shuffle the team and put out a better performance.

Kevin Pietersen, Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Thisara Perera, RP Singh, Albie Morkel and George Bailey are the star players released by RPS.

They now have 16 players in the team and Rs.19.1 crore for the upcoming auction.


Not many changes in the Punjab and Gujarat teams

Not many changes in the Punjab and Gujarat teams

Gujarat Lions, who finished third in the 2016 IPL have released only one overseas player and seven domestic.

Dale Steyn has only been released due to his injury issues.

Kings XI Punjab have released Mitchell Johnson, Rishi Dhawan, Kyle Abbott and Farhaan Behardien, retaining most of the previous team.

Gujarat Lions have 16 players in their team, while Kings XI Punjab have 19.

Mumbai retains 20 players

Like the Bangalore Royal Challengers, Mumbai Indians have also retained 20 players in their team. Only notable release from the team was of Corey Anderson. With 6 overseas players of the 20 retained, Mumbai has Rs.11.55 crore left from the salary cap.

Share this timeline

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline