BCCI submits its list for the Arjuna Award


27 Apr 2019

Arjuna Award: BCCI recommends names of these four cricketers

The Board of Control for India (BCCI) on Saturday recommended the names of four cricketers for the prestigious Arjuna Award.

The decision was taken during a meeting of the Committee of Administrators, held in New Delhi.

Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja saw their names on the list, alongside women's cricketer Poonam Yadav.

Here is more about it.


Bumrah has been India's leading bowler

Bumrah has been India's leading bowler

Bumrah has been India's standout performer after breaking into the Test scene in 2018.

He ended the year with 48 Test scalps at an average of 21.02.

Interestingly, all his wickets came overseas.

Bumrah also stood out in the 50-over format and was named in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

The right-arm pacer will lead India's bowling unit in 2019 World Cup.


Shami's fightback makes him a deserving candidate

After a strong show versus South Africa earlier in 2018, Mohammed Shami had to battle personal troubles and fitness concerns.

But the experienced campaigner fought hard. He delivered the goods for India.

He ended 2018 with 47 Test scalps.

Shami's best moment came when he worked his way back into the ODI side.

He will look to shine in the World Cup.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


Jadeja has been influential for India

Jadeja has been influential for India

Ravindra Jadeja deserves a special mention.

He shined for India in England after replacing R Ashwin for the fifth Test.

Jadeja made his entry into the ODI side in the Asia Cup as a replacement for Hardik Pandya.

Some consistent string of performances helped the experienced all-rounder to gain a berth in the ICC World Cup 2019 squad for India.


Poonam Yadav has defined consistency

Poonam Yadav was consistent throughout 2018.

She ended the year as the joint-highest wicket-taker in ODI cricket.

Poonam also ended 2018 as the highest wicket-taker (35) in T20Is.

Her average of 14.91 stood out. The leg-spinner has become a vital cog in the Indian women's cricket team and will look to continue in the same vein.

Her presence adds character.

Share this timeline

Arjuna Award



Jasprit Bumrah

Mohammed Shami

Poonam Yadav

Ravindra Jadeja

Asia Cup


Board of Control for India

Committee of Administrators

Hardik Pandya


ICC World Cup 2019

New Delhi

R Ashwin

South Africa


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline