Strange records scripted in IPL 2019


11 May 2019

IPL 2019: Here is the list of strange records scripted

The IPL 2019 is set to witness the final on Sunday, as it has been an enthralling season.

From entertainment to dismay, it has given everything a cricket fan could wish for.

Meanwhile, the tournament has also seen a number of records being scripted, with a few being strange and unwanted.

Here, we have a look at some of such records of this term.

Pelted on debut

Varun Chakravarthy pelted for most in IPL debut over

Varun Chakravarthy pelted for most in IPL debut over

It is always a dream for any cricketer to make his IPL debut.

However, things could turn from delight to consternation if that very cricketer is being smacked for plenty in his maiden over.

Kings XI Punjab's (KXIP) mystery spinner Varun Chakravarthy was smashed for 25, the most in the IPL debut over, by KKR's mystery spinner himself, Sunil Narine.

Idol replaced

Sam Curran replaces his idol with a record-breaking performance

Every cricketer grows up idolizing a fellow cricketer.

Same was the case for Sam Curran, who replaced Chris Gayle for KXIP against Delhi Capitals.

Although he could not do much with the bat, he shattered records with the ball, becoming the youngest cricketer to script a hat-trick in IPL, claiming 4/11.

He also became the youngest overseas bowlers to claim a four-for in IPL.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

Duck tales

Ashton Turner's love for ducks

Ashton Turner's love for ducks

It's never a happy tale to get out for a duck, while it becomes thwarting on consecutive occasions.

Rajasthan's batsman Ashton Turner has had a record of consecutive ducks this IPL, while it began even before the tournament.

It all started for Adelaide Strikers during BBL 2018-19, followed by a T20I tie against India to three matches in a row this IPL.


First-ever Mankading

In one of the most controversial dismissals in cricket, IPL 2019 saw its first-ever Mankading.

It happened when KXIP skipper Ravichandran Ashwin Mankaded Rajasthan's Jos Buttler, after the latter left the crease before the ball was released.

While the dismissal did draw criticism from several analysts, it was well within the laws, and it went down in the history books of the tournament.

No obsructions

Second-ever obstructing the field

Second-ever obstructing the field

In one of the rarest of dismissals in cricket, Delhi's Amit Mishra became the second-ever batsman to be dismissed for obstructing the field.

The incident happened during their play-off tie against Sunrisers Hyderabad when Mishra changed his run-up track, thus obstructing the field.

Yusuf Pathan was the first-ever batsman to be dismissed in a similar fashion for KKR during the 2013 IPL.

Parags stumped

MS Dhoni stumps Parag family

It is both interesting and frustrating to see history repeat itself, especially in the IPL.

Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni has a knack of stumping people multiple times.

However, in this case, he stumped members of the same family.

While Dhoni stumped Rajasthan's Riyan Parag in IPL this season, the former had done so to his father in First-Class cricket.

Share this timeline

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings 2019

Chennai Super Kings 2019 Ipl Team

CSK 2018-Present


Dhoni & Co.

Dhoni Cricket

Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League 2019


IPL 12

IPL 2019

Ipl Playoffs Table

Mahendra Singh Dhoni


MS Dhoni

Ms Dhoni Csk

Ms Dhoni Ipl

Ms Dhoni Ipl 2019

MS Dhoni- Chennai Super Kings

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians 2019

Mumbai Indians 2019 Ipl

Mumbai Indians 2019 Ipl Team

Adelaide Strikers

Amit Mishra

Ashton Turner

BBL 2018-19

Chris Gayle

Delhi Capitals

First-ever Mankading

Jos Buttler

Kings XI Punjab




Ravichandran Ashwin Mankaded Rajasthan

Riyan Parag

Sam Curran


Sunil Narine

Sunrisers Hyderabad


Varun Chakravarthy

Yusuf Pathan

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Most asked questions

When did CSK first win the IPL?

Who won the first-ever IPL?

Who are the defending champions of IPL 2019?

How many times have Delhi won the IPL?

More questions

When did CSK first win the IPL?

Asked 2019-05-11 19:33:06 by Navya Singhal

Answered by NewsBytes

CSK first won the IPL in 2010.

Who won the first-ever IPL?

Asked 2019-05-11 19:33:06 by Tejas Bhatnagar

Answered by NewsBytes

Rajasthan won the first-ever IPL.

Who are the defending champions of IPL 2019?

Asked 2019-05-11 19:33:06 by Parakram Malik

Answered by NewsBytes

CSK are the defending champions of IPL 2019.

How many times have Delhi won the IPL?

Asked 2019-05-11 19:33:06 by Pranav Kapur

Answered by NewsBytes

Delhi are yet to win the IPL to date.

Next Timeline