World Cup: Comparing the bowling line-up of teams


11 May 2019

2019 World Cup: Rating the bowling of major teams

The ICC World Cup 2019 is set to start from May 30 onwards.

The pitches in England are expected to assist bowlers, especially pacers and all the major teams have some match-winning players at their disposal.

From Jasprit Bumrah to Kagiso Rabada, bowlers are expected to dictate the show.

Here we rate the bowling firepower of SENA countries, along with India and Pakistan.


Indian cricket team gets 8/10 rating

Indian cricket team gets 8/10 rating

Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal are the two main spinners for India. Ravindra Jadeja adds depth as the spin-bowling all-rounder.

The Indian cricket team has gone with a three-man pace attack.

Jasprit Bumrah leads the quartet with Mohammed Shami and Bhuvneshwar Kumar adding vital experience.

Hardik Pandya's responsibility will be immense as the fourth pacer.

India have quality resources, but fitness will be key.


England have serious depth and quality, get 9/10

England have variety in bowling. Left-arm pacer David Willey is a strong personality.

The experienced Liam Plunkett is the main force to be reckoned with.

Tom Curran and Mark Wood have been consistent.

England get depth with all-rounders Ben Stokes and Chris Woakes adding substance.

Adil Rashid holds the key in spin, with Moeen Ali and Joe Denly providing the support.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


Bowling-heavy Australia get 8/10

Bowling-heavy Australia get 8/10

Australia have gone in with a bowling-heavy attack. There are five main speedsters in the side.

Mitchell Starc is their star bowler, who leads the attack. Pat Cummins, Jason Behrendorff are strong names.

Nathan Coulter-Nile and Kane Richardson add depth.

Marcus Stoinis is the pace-bowling all-rounder.

Adam Zampa is a quality spinner. Nathan Lyon and Glenn Maxwell are two experienced names as well.

New Zealand

New Zealand have variety on offer, get 7.5/10

New Zealand's pace department, in particular, is loaded with variety.

Tim Southee and Trent Boult would lead the show.

Boult will relish bowling in the conditions on offer.

Lockie Ferguson can be costly, Matt Henry is a decent fit.

Jimmy Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme are solid all-rounders and will be influential.

Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner provide quality in the spin department.

South Africa

Powerful SA can dictate the show, they get 9/10

Powerful SA can dictate the show, they get 9/10

South Africa can dictate the show with their quality bowling on offer.

Kagiso Rabada is a superstar and a lot will revolve around him.

Dale Steyn is bowling with a lot of zeal. Lungi Ngidi is a promising youngster.

In-form Imran Tahir is their main spinner. Tabraiz Shamsi is the second spin option.

All-rounders Chris Morris, Dwaine Pretorius and Andile Phehlukwayo offer pace-bowling options.


Pakistan cricket team gets 7/10

Pakistan will depend on ace spinner Shadab Khan.

Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan and Shaheen Afridi are quality pacers.

Shaheen in particular can generate the pace and bounce with his energy.

Teenager Mohammad Hasnain can be a surprise package. Faheem Ashraf can contribute as a bowling all-rounder.

Left-arm spin all-rounder Imad Wasim could be highly substantial. Malik and Hafeez could be called upon at times.

Share this timeline

2019 World Cup

Australian Cricket Team


Cricket World Cup

Cricket World Cup 2019

England Cricket Team

ICC World Cup 2019

Indian Cricket Team

Jasprit Bumrah

Kagiso Rabada

Liam Plunkett

Mitchell Starc

New Zealand

Pakistan Cricket Team

Shaheen Afridi

South Africa Cricket Team

Trent Boult

Adam Zampa

Adil Rashid

All-rounders Chris Morris

Andile Phehlukwayo

Ben Stokes

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bowling-heavy Australia

Chris Morris

Chris Woakes

Dale Steyn

David Willey

Dwaine Pretorius


Faheem Ashraf

Glenn Maxwell

Hardik Pandya

Hasan Ali

Imad Wasim

Imran Tahir

In-form Imran Tahir

Ish Sodhi

Jason Behrendorff

Jimmy Neesham

Joe Denly

Junaid Khan

Kane Richardson

Kuldeep Yadav

Lockie Ferguson

Lungi Ngidi

Marcus Stoinis

Mark Wood

Matt Henry

Mitchell Santner

Moeen Ali

Mohammad Hasnain

Mohammed Shami

Nathan Coulter-Nile

Nathan Lyon

Pat Cummins

Powerful SA

Ravindra Jadeja


Shadab Khan

South Africa

Tabraiz Shamsi

Teenager Mohammad Hasnain

Tim Southee

Tom Curran

Yuzvendra Chahal

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline