MI and CSK clash in IPL 2019 finale


12 May 2019

A look at all the MI vs CSK IPL finals

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 finale is finally here and we have two of the tournament's most successful teams battling it out.

Rohit Sharma led-Mumbai Indians take on Chennai Super Kings in a mouth-watering finale.

Both are looking to win their fourth IPL title.

Here we look at how they have fared against each other in previous IPL finals.

MI have 2-1 lead in IPL finals against CSK

MI have the edge over CSK in terms of head-to-head meetings in IPL finals. MI have beaten CSK in two of the three finals. CSK won one finale back in 2010. It was also their first IPL trophy in the history.

2010 IPL final

CSK emerged victorious in 2010 against Tendulkar's side

CSK emerged victorious in 2010 against Tendulkar's side

The IPL 2010 finale was held at the DY Patil Stadium.

Batting first, CSK posted 168/5. CSK were in a spot of bother after being reduced to 67/3 from 44/0, but Suresh Raina (57*) played superbly.

In reply, Sachin Tendulkar and Abhishek Nayar put on a 66-run stand for the second-wicket, but they lost the plot from there on. They lost by 22 runs.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me

2013 final

MI bowlers crush CSK at the Eden in 2013

The 2013 final at the Eden was a close affair in which the bowlers shined.

Batting first, MI needed to put runs on the board, but were reduced to 16/3.

Ambati Rayudu (37) and Kieron Pollard (60*) played the rescue act to help MI get to 148/9.

In reply, CSK were crushed by MI bowlers.

All they could manage was 125/9, despite Dhoni's heroics.

2015 final

MI thrash CSK at the Eden in 2015 finale

MI thrash CSK at the Eden in 2015 finale

The 2015 final was once again held at the Eden in Kolkata and this time MI won comfortably.

Batting first, MI posted a commanding total of 202/5.

Lendl Simmons (68) and Rohit (50) were the chief contributors.

CSK needed to be smart and aggressive, but that didn't happen.

Dhoni's side lost regular wickets and were never in the chase.

They lost by 41 runs.

MI go into IPL 2019 final as the favorites

MI have beaten CSK in all the three matches played this season between the two. Interestingly, CSK were beaten comprehensively on all three occasions. MI have the upper hand here and could beat the defending champions in Hyderabad on Sunday.

Share this timeline

Chennai Super Kings


Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League 2019


IPL 12

IPL 2019


Mumbai Indians

Abhishek Nayar

Ambati Rayudu

Csk Ipl

DY Patil Stadium

IPL 2010

Kieron Pollard

Lendl Simmons

Rohit Sharma

Sachin Tendulkar

Suresh Raina

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline