PBL: Mumbai Rockets register a 4-3 win over Awadhe Warriors

07 Jan 2017 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
2017 Premier Badminton League - Day 6 Updates!

Awadhe Warriors were handed a defeat at home by Mumbai Rockets in the 2017 Vodafone Premier Badminton League.

Leading 4-1, Mumbai lost the mixed doubles match and ended up giving two points to the Warriors.

However, the visitors still had one point lead and went on to win the tie 4-3.

Mumbai are now placed second behind Warriors on the points table.

In context: 2017 Premier Badminton League - Day 6 Updates!

Jayaram vs KidambiJayaram edges past Srikanth to give Mumbai a 2-0 lead

After Mumbai Rockets won the men's doubles match to take a 1-0 lead against Awadhe Warriors, Ajay Jayaram doubled the lead with a win against Srikanth Kidambi.

Losing first game, Jayaram made a comeback in the second and third to win the match 5-11, 15-14, 11-5.

Kidambi showed aggression in his game but ended up making some errors and lost the match.

Saina Nehwal registers first win for Awadhe Warriors

After two losses, Awadhe Warriors' Saina Nehwal gave her team the first win in the women's singles match. She defeated Sung Ji Hyun 12-10, 4-11, 11-5. The score of the tie after Warriors' win was 2-1.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Prannoy wins Trump match; Mumbai lead 4-1

Prannoy vs VincentPrannoy wins Trump match; Mumbai lead 4-1

HS Prannoy defeated Wong Wing Ki Vincent in the second men's singles match of the day to extend the Mumbai Rockets' lead to 4-1.

Trailing in the first game, Prannoy made a return to win the game 14-12, but lost the second game 9-11.

The third game saw Prannoy dominating Wong, winning 11-8. Winning two points from the match, Mumbai led 4-1.

07 Jan 2017PBL: Mumbai Rockets register a 4-3 win over Awadhe Warriors

PBL moves to Bengaluru

After Hyderabad, Mumbai and Lucknow, the 2017 PBL will now move to Bengaluru where six matches will be played. The first match will see home team Bengaluru Blasters battling it out with Hyderabad Hunters on 7 January.