08 Jun 2019
Previous instances of umpiring howlers in Cricket World Cup
On the very next delivery, which should have been a free-hit, Starc dismissed Chris Gayle.
In the same light, here we look at other instances of umpiring howlers in the World Cup.
2015 World Cup: Taylor misses out on ton against Australia
In the 2015 World Cup, England batsman James Taylor missed out on his century against Australia after James Anderson was wrongly adjudged run-out.
Firstly, the on-field umpire had given Taylor out LBW after Aussies appealed.
Taylor reviewed the same and the decision got overturned.
But the two batsmen had also attempted a run for a leg-bye, and Glenn Maxwell's throw caught Anderson short.
Dhawan's controversial catch against Bangladesh in 2015 World Cup
In the quarter-finals clash between Bangladesh and India, Shikhar Dhawan took a magnificent catch to dismiss Mahmudullah.
The southpaw had to flip the ball back as he was going over the ropes, before coming back to complete the catch.
Replay showed that Dhawan's left foot might have touched the boundary line while he caught the ball.
But the third umpire ruled Mahmudullah out.
Sean Williams given out despite replays suggesting otherwise in 2015
Zimbabwe batsman Sean Williams was batting on 96 as he hit the penultimate delivery of the 47th over towards deep square-leg.
John Mooney took the catch right at the edge of the boundary.
The on-field umpires referred the decision to the third umpire.
Replays showed that Mooney's foot might have been touching the boundary rope.
Yet, the decision was given in favor of Ireland.
Rohit Sharma's incident in 2015 left many people stunned
In the 2015 World Cup, Rohit Sharma hit a full toss delivery straight to the fielder on deep square leg in the 40th over.
But umpire Aleem Dar immediately indicated a no-ball, claiming that the ball was the above waist line.
Replays showed otherwise and the on-field officials didn't even refer it to the third umpire.
The ICC clarified it was a 50-50 call.
Why the decision against England was bizarre?
Since the on-field umpire had already raised his finger for LBW, once the decision got overturned, the run-out cannot be counted. It should have been deemed as a dead ball, post umpire raised his finger. Both the on-field and third umpire were caught napping.