CWC: Contenders for the Player of the Tournament


12 Jul 2019

ICC World Cup: Who will win the best player award?

The ICC World Cup 2019 ends on Sunday with England and New Zealand locking horns in the mega finale at Lord's.

We have witnessed a terrific tournament so far with several players coming out and dictating the show.

But in the end, we can only have one Player of the Tournament.

Who will win the prestigious award? Here are the contenders.

Rohit, Warner

Rohit Sharma and David Warner defined the batting charts

Rohit Sharma and David Warner defined the batting charts

Rohit Sharma could very well end as the highest run-scorer of CWC 19 after amassing 648 runs.

He registered five centuries that included three successive ones.

It was complete domination by the senior Indian cricketer.

Joining Rohit is Australia's ace David Warner (647 runs). Warner smashed three tons.

Both these players played a crucial role in helping their respective side reach the semis.

Kane and Root

Williamson and Root were mighty for their sides

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson stood out for his side throughout the tournament.

He is a major reason for the Kiwis booking a berth in the finale.

Calm and composed, Williamson has smashed 548 runs at an average of 91.33.

Like Williamson, England's talisman Joe Root has been influential at number three.

Root has scored 549 runs and leads the show for the finalists.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify Me


Shakib Al Hasan enjoyed an excellent World Cup

Shakib Al Hasan enjoyed an excellent World Cup

The one player who might just trump everybody and win the award is Bangladesh's Shakib Al Hasan.

The senior all-rounder floored everyone with his consistent performance for the Tigers.

He enjoyed an excellent run and scored 606 runs that included two centuries and five fifties.

Shakib also took 11 scalps in total that included a fifer.

That is a tremendous achievement.


Mitchell Starc was the star for Australia

Australian hero Mitchell Starc is a strong contender as well.

With 27 scalps under his belt, Starc created history by being the most successful bowler in an edition of the World Cup.

He kept producing solid shows and won many games for his side.

His wicket-taking ability helped Australia eke out match-winning moments.

Starc also picked up two fifers in the tourney.

Babar and Archer

Archer, Babar are other notable names

Archer, Babar are other notable names

England's Jofra Archer is mentioned here for creating a great impact in such a short span of time.

After making his debut for England in May 2019, Archer showed his quick learning skills to take 19 scalps so far.

Pakistan's Babar Azam had a great tournament as well. The consistent Babar amassed 478 runs. He might not even but deserves a shout-out.

Who will walk away with the prize?

Share this timeline

2019 World Cup

Babar Azam


Cricket News

Cricket World Cup

Cricket World Cup 2019

CWC 19

David Warner

ICC World Cup 2019

Joe Root

Jofra Archer

Kane Williamson

Mitchell Starc

ODI Cricket

Rohit Sharma

World Cup 2019



Joining Rohit

New Zealand

Shakib Al Hasan


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline