World Test Championship officially launched by ICC


29 Jul 2019

Explainer: All you need to know about World Test Championship

The much-awaited World Test Championship was officially launched by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday.

The tournament will start from August 1, 2019.

Nine top-ranked Test teams, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the Windies would be competing in the event.

The final would be played in June 2021.

Here is all you need to know.

71 Tests would be played over two years

As for the number of matches, a total of 71 Tests would be played across 27 series. Each team would play three home and away series. After two years, the top two teams would automatically qualify for the final, to be played at Lord's, London.

Points system

How would the points system work?

How would the points system work?

Each series will have 120 points up for grab.

Two-match series: 60 for win, 30 for tie, 20 for draw.

Three-match series: 40 for win, 20 for tie, 13 for draw.

Four-match series: 30 for win, 15 for tie, 10 for draw.

Five-match series: 24 for win, 12 for tie, eight for draw.

No points would be awarded in case of a loss.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me

Why WTC?

Why did ICC introduce World Test Championship?

Over the years, the popularity of the longest format of the game has taken a hit.

In the same light, the World Test Championship has been introduced to make Tests interesting.

As the other two formats (ODI and T20I) have their respective World Cups, it was decided that the oldest format of the game should get a world championship of its own.

Types of Tests that are part of WTC

As the red-ball cricket too has witnessed format changes, it is to be noted that only five-day Tests would be a part of the Championship, including day-night matches. However, the day-night Tests are subject to a bilateral agreement between the playing nations.

ICC's influence

How does ICC influence the WTC?

How does ICC influence the WTC?

The ICC is organizing the tournament.

However, until the final, the ICC's role would be to just oversee the matches and series, held by the host nation against the visiting country.

The ICC would provide match officials for the series and ensure that the matches follow the regulations.

The venue, ticketing, and other responsibilities lie with the host nation's board.

Test rankings

How does the WTC affect the Test rankings?

It should also be noted that only Tests, between the nine nations, would be considered for this event.

The matches against nations, other than the top nine ranked teams, would not be considered for this event.

As for the rankings, it would work in the usual way for all the 12 teams, while the WTC points table would work independently.


Who is the official broadcaster of the WTC matches?

Who is the official broadcaster of the WTC matches?

The broadcast duties for the matches lie with the board of the host nation.

The official broadcaster of the host nation would telecast the matches.

When it comes to the final, the broadcast duties would be given to ICC.

As for India, Star Sports and Sony Sports Network would broadcast matches based on the host nation, while the final would be broadcast by Star.

Share this timeline



ICC Test

ICC Test Batsmen Rankings

ICC Test Bowlers

Icc Test Championship

Icc Test Championship 2019

Icc Test Championship Mace

Icc Test Championship Schedule

Icc World Test Championship


India Cricket

India Cricket Team

Indian Cricket

Indian Cricket Board

Indian Cricket Team

International Cricket

International Cricket Council

International Cricket Council (ICC)

International Cricket Council Teams

International Cricketer

Test Championship

Test Cricket


World Test Championship

World Test Championships


New Zealand

Sony Sports Network

South Africa

Sri Lanka

Star Sports


World Cups


Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline