IPL auction postponed to 20th February

03 Feb 2017 | Written by Rishikesh Malkhede; Edited by Gogona Saikia
2017 Indian Premier League!

The auction for the 2017 Indian Premier League has been postponed from 4th February to 20th February owing to the changes in the top brass in BCCI.

The auction would be hosted in Mumbai this time, instead of Bengaluru.

The venue has reportedly been changed as Mumbai is financially more feasible.

The IPL matches would start from 5th April.

In context: 2017 Indian Premier League!

01 Feb 2017Dates finalized for 10th edition of IPL

The Committee of Administrators (COA) for the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that the 10th edition of Indian Premier League will begin from 5 April 2017.

The four-member panel has also assured the franchises that the IPL preparations will be dealt by BCCI/IPL management teams under the COA's supervision and directions.

Media release by the BCCI

A press-release by the BCCI said, "The IPL 2017 season will commence as scheduled from 5th April 2017. The IPL operational timelines for 2017 season will be communicated shortly by the BCCI / IPL management team."
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

03 Feb 2017IPL auction postponed to 20th February

Player contracts to expire after IPL 2017

It will be the last chance for the franchisees to shore up their players' list before the 2018 season as all the players will be going under hammer in the next auction in 2018. However, no decision on player retention rules have been released yet.
Kevin Pietersen to miss 2017 IPL

DetailsKevin Pietersen to miss 2017 IPL

Former England cricketer Kevin Pietersen has ruled himself out of the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League.

Pietersen tweeted that he had been playing a lot of cricket and would like to be home for the later part of the year.

He has been playing Australia's Big Bash League and Bangladesh Premier League from last few months.

16 Feb 2017IPL 2017 to kick off in Hyderabad on April 5

Hyderabad will host the first and final matches of IPL 2017 on April 5 and May 21 respectively. Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore will face each other in the opening match.

The 47-day tournament will be spread across 10 locations, including Indore and Kanpur. Each team will play 14 matches.

Qualifiers are scheduled on May 16 and 19, and eliminator on May 17.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

19 Feb 2017MS Dhoni steps down as captain of Rising Pune Supergiants

Former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has stepped down as the the captain of Indian Premier League team Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS) for the upcoming season. He was retained by the team earlier this month.

RPS had managed to win only five of their 14 matches in their debut IPL last year, under Dhoni's captaincy.

No announcement on new captain has been made.

19 Feb 2017Mitchell Starc parts ways with Royal Challengers Bangalore

With just one day to go for the 2017 Indian Premier League auction, Australian fast bowler Mitchell Starc has pulled out of the upcoming edition of the league.

He was a part of Royal Challengers Bangalore, whom he had joined in 2014.

Reportedly, Starc has taken the decision to rest his body and to focus on Australia's upcoming matches.