India to host Bangladesh for one test match in Hyderabad

08 Feb 2017 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
India-Bangladesh test match

Bangladesh cricket team will tour India for one test match starting from February 9 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

India and Bangladesh faced each other last time in June 2015 in Dhaka, but the match was washed off due to a heavy rainfall.

It will be the first time that Bangladesh is touring India for test cricket.

In context: India-Bangladesh test match

DetailsHistory of test cricket between India and Bangladesh

Bangladesh's first ever test match was against the Indian team way back in 2000 in Dhaka.

Since then, the two countries have played eight test matches. While India has won six of them, two have ended in a draw.

India has registered three of the six wins by an innings and the one by 10 wickets.

Highest run scorer and highest wicket taker

With 820 runs in nine innings, Sachin Tendulkar is the highest scoring batsman, while Zaheer Khan is the highest wicket taker with 31 wickets in seven matches. Sachin's test best of 248 also came against Bangladesh in the 2004-05 series.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

08 Feb 2017India to host Bangladesh for one test match in Hyderabad

Indian team for Bangladesh test announced

DetailsIndian team for Bangladesh test announced

The Indian team for the solitary test match against Bangladesh was announced by the national senior selection committee.

Wriddhiman Saha has been picked ahead of Parthiv Patel as a wicketkeeper-batsman.

Tamil Nadu batsman Abhinav Mukund, who played his last test match in 2011 has been recalled by the selectors.

Injured Amit Mishra has been replaced by left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav of Uttar Pradesh.

Indian squad

Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(C), Karun Nair, Wriddhiman Saha(WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya and Abhinav Mukund.

09 Feb 2017Vijay, Kohli dominate Bangladesh in Hyderabad test

Centuries from Murali Vijay and Virat Kohli helped India put 356 runs on board with loss of three wickets at the end of day one of Hyderabad test against Bangladesh.

Vijay scored 108 runs, while Kohli is unbeaten at 111. Earlier, Cheteshwar Pujara scored 83 runs in a 178-run partnership with Vijay.

Kohli was on crease with Ajinkya Rahane(45) as the day ended.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Kohli scores century against all the test teams

After hitting a hundred at Hyderabad, Virat Kohli has scored a century against all the seven test nations he has played against. He has not yet played against Pakistan and Zimbabwe.

10 Feb 2017India extend their dominance against Bangladesh

A double century from Virat Kohli and a century from Wriddhiman Saha extended India's dominance over Bangladesh on second day at Hyderabad.

Kohli scored 204 runs, while Saha remained unbeaten at 106. Along with them, Ajinkya Rahane(82) and Ravindra Jadeja(60*) kept the scoreboard ticking from other end as India declared their innings at mammoth 687 runs.

Bangladesh scored 41 runs as the day ended.

12 Feb 2017India set a target of 459 for Bangladesh

After restricting the Bangladeshi batsmen for 388 runs, India scored 159 runs in the second innings to set a target of 459 runs on the fourth day of test at Hyderabad.

Cheteshwar Pujara scored unbeaten 54 runs for the hosts.

Bangladesh in their second innings scored 103 for the loss of three wickets at the end of the day.

Ashwin gets 250 wickets

Ravichandran Ashwin became the fastest bowler to reach 250 test wickets as he got rid of Mushfiqur Rahim in the first innings. Rahim had scored 127 runs.

13 Feb 2017India defeat Bangladesh in one-off test

India defeated Bangladesh by 208 runs in the one-off test match at Hyderabad.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja took four wickets each while Ishant Sharma picked up two wickets as India wrapped up the visitors for 250 runs.

With this win, India has continued their winning form in tests against Bangladesh as they registered seventh win in nine tests.