India's Test squad for series against SA announced


12 Sep 2019

BCCI announces India's squad for Test series against South Africa

The BCCI has announced the Indian cricket team squad for the upcoming three-match Test series against South Africa, starting October 2 onwards.

The selectors have included Shubman Gill and left out struggling KL Rahul.

Virat Kohli will lead the Test team in India's second assignment in the ongoing ICC World Test Championship.

Here's more.

A full strength Test team on offer

India's squad for the three-match Test series: Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Mayank Agarwal, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper) Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Shubman Gill.

Rahul dropped

India drop KL Rahul, big chance for Gill to shine

India drop KL Rahul, big chance for Gill to shine

India dropped KL Rahul and the selectors have trusted youngster Shubman Gill to open the batting with Mayank Agarwal.

Rahul has endured a horrific run in Tests since the start of 2018.

Against Windies, the opening batsman wasted his chances.

Although, it remains to be seen whether the management prefers Rohit Sharma upfront.

The versatile Rohit deserves a chance to feature in Tests.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


Promising Hanuma Vihari brings in that excitement

Hanuma Vihari at number six was the biggest plus in the series against the Windies.

He will look to show his worth in his first Test series at home.

Vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane was amongst the runs against WI.

He needs to show his away form at home as well.

The batting will depend largely on Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara.


Ashwin and Jadeja likely to take command

Ashwin and Jadeja likely to take command

R Ashwin didn't get a game in Windies and he will be raring to have a crack this time around.

Ashwin has done remarkably well in County cricket and has looked sharp throughout his spell.

His presence will be immense.

Ash will be supported by Ravindra Jadeja.

The left-arm spin all-rounder has had a strong effect in India's dominance at home.


India's pace attack looks strong and composed

India's pacers have set the standards of late and a lot of success has been derived from their consistency.

Jasprit Bumrah has been superb since 2018.

All of his 62 Test scalps have come outside the subcontinent.

This series will mark his debut at home.

Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Shami fit in. Umesh Yadav has been left out of the side.

Share this timeline



Cricket News

Hanuma Vihari

Ind Vs Sa

India Vs South Africa

India Vs South Africa 2019

Indian Cricket Team

Jasprit Bumrah

KL Rahul

R Ashwin

Rohit Sharma

South Africa

Team India

Test Cricket


Virat Kohli

Against Windies

Ajinkya Rahane

C Pujara

Cheteshwar Pujara

Icc World Test Championship

Ishant Sharma

Kuldeep Yadav

Mayank Agarwal

Mohammed Shami

Promising Hanuma Vihari

Ravindra Jadeja

Rishabh Pant

Shubman Gill

Umesh Yadav

Vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane



Wriddhiman Saha

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline