Indian team for Australia series announced

14 Feb 2017 | Written by Rishikesh Malkhede; Edited by Mansi Motwani
Australia tour of India - Updates!

Board of Control for Cricket in India's senior selection committee announced the team for the first two test matches against Australia.

The first two tests will be played at Pune and Bengaluru respectively.

The selectors have selected the same 16-member team picked up for the one-off test match against Bangladesh with no changes made.

The team for remaining two tests would be picked later.

In context: Australia tour of India - Updates!

The Border-Gavaskar TrophyAustralia to tour India for a test series

The Australian cricket team will tour India for a four match Border Gavaskar Trophy test series in February-March 2017.

While the first test will be played from 23 February at Pune, the last test will commence on 25 March.

Since the first edition of Border-Gavaskar Trophy in 1996, India has won the series six time, while Australia has won it five times.

DetailsIndia to get three new test venues

India is set to get three new venues for the series.

The first test will start on 23 February at Pune's Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium. Pune has earlier only hosted ODI/T20 games. The second-match will be hosted in Bengaluru.

The third and fourth match will be played in Ranchi and Dharamsala, it will be the first time that they would host their international test-matches.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Hosts look to regain trophy after a loss in 2014-15

In 2014-15, India had toured Australia for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy where they lost the four match test series 2-0. The hosts will now look to regain the trophy as the Kangaroos visit India.

14 Feb 2017Indian team for Australia series announced

Indian squad

This is the squad: Virat Kohli(C), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha(wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Karun Nair, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund and Hardik Pandya.
Indian team looks to pip Australia to retain top spot

16 Feb 2017Indian team looks to pip Australia to retain top spot

Along with the Test Championship mace, the top-ranked Test nation would get a prize worth US $1 million from the International Cricket Council.

Next week, India and Australia would meet for the four-Test series expecting to win something more than the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.

The Indian team needs just one win from the four-Test series to secure the top spot and the million dollars.