UPWizards & Delhi Waveriders fight hard, end in a draw

20 Feb 2017 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
2017 Hockey India League - Updates!

Uttar Pradesh Wizards and Delhi Waveriders fought hard to grab a semi-finals spot in the Coal India Hockey India League 2017 as the encounter ended in a 1-1 tie at Delhi.

Gonzalo Peillat and Rupinder Pal Singh scored a goal each for UP and Delhi respectively in the evenly fought match.

Both the teams were awarded equal points.

In context: 2017 Hockey India League - Updates!

AboutHockey India League

Hockey India League is a professional hockey league organized by Hockey India.

It was founded in 2013 and is played annually, with participation of six teams from various parts of the country.

The tournament has seen a different winner every year since first edition; Ranchi Rhinos in 2013, Delhi Waveriders in 2014, Ranchi Rays in 2015 and Jaypee Punjab Warriors in 2016.

Coal India Hockey India League 2017

The fifth season of Hockey India League is being played from 21 January to 25 February 2017. The six teams participating in the tournament are Delhi Waveriders, Kalinga Lancers, Dabang Mumbai, Punjab Warriors, Ranchi Rays and Uttar Pradesh Wizards.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Dabang Mumbai first team into semis

13 Feb 2017Dabang Mumbai first team into semis

Dabang Mumbai Hockey Club became the first team in the Hockey India League 2017 to grab their spot in the semi-finals.

They defeated Punjab Warriors to reach the semis.

With six wins and one draw from nine games, they are on the top of the league table with one more match to go.

They will play against Uttar Pradesh Wizards in their last encounter.

18 Feb 2017Kalinga lancers seal a semis spot after thrashing defending champs

A 7-0 win over the defending champions Punjab Warriors meant a semis spot for the Bhubaneswar based team Kalinga Lancers.

The Lancers have won five of their 10 matches with one draw. They are on the second spot of the table with 28 points.

They have become the second team to qualify for the semi-finals of the 2017 edition of Hockey India League.

20 Feb 2017UPWizards & Delhi Waveriders fight hard, end in a draw

27 Feb 2017Kalinga Lancers lift maiden Hockey India League title

Kalinga Lancers defeated Dabang Mumbai 4-1 in the finals of the Coal India Hockey India league to lift their maiden title.

Glenn Turner scored the opening goal for the Bhubaneswar-based team in the 18th minute, while captain Moritz Fuerste scored two goals in the 30th and 59th minute.

The Lancers were the runners-up in the 2016 edition of the tournament.