Wales's Smith, who was bowling to WA's Josh Inglis, saw the latter going for the drive, as the ball hit the man at silly point, only to bounce back in the air and to be comfortably taken by Nick Larkin in the short leg.
Inglis's dismissal was not clear enough
However, there was mild controversy surrounding his dismissal, as replays from multiple angles suggested that while Inglis went for the drive, the ball probably hit the ground, before or after, hitting the boots of the man stationed at silly point.
Nonetheless, since it was a domestic match, with no DRS in place, the on-field umpire's decision stood.
Inglis falls prey to Smith in a bizarre fashion
Steve Smith has a wicket... in bizarre (and lucky) circumstances!