Indian Badminton League back after 2 years

26 Sep 2015 | Written by Eshwarya ; Edited by Vaneet Randhawa
IBL: The required push for badminton in India

IBL is all set to make a comeback after 2 years in January 2016.

It had two slots in August and January. Akhilesh Gupta, president, BAI, declared that after the debut tournament in August 2013, they couldn't organise it again in January 2014.

They failed to arrange in August 2014, as it was not feasible due to the engagement of players in commonwealth games.

In context: IBL: The required push for badminton in India

14 Aug 2013What is Indian Badminton League?

Inspired by the Sudirman cup, IBL commenced in Delhi and involved two men's, one women's singles, one men's doubles, and one mixed doubles badminton matches.

It had six franchises representing six indian cities.

The IBL auction witnessed Lee Chong Wei as the most paid badminton player in the league, sold for $135,000.

Saina Nehwal too featured in the list and was sold for $120,000.

The line of difference: Sudirman and IBL

Sudirman Cup is the worldwide badminton tournament and occurs after every two years. The only contrast seen between the format of IBL and Sudirman cup is the substitution of men's singles with women's doubles in the former.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Indian Badminton League: About the teams

14 Aug 2013Indian Badminton League: About the teams

IBL 2013 involved a series of battle between 6 badminton state teams, viz. Hyderabad Hotshots, Mumbai Marathas, Pune Pistons, Banga Beats, Delhi Smashers and Awadhe Warriors.

Each team constituted of 12 players, of which four were foreign players.

While all teams were captained by Indians, Lee Chong from Malaysia headed Mumbai Marathas.

Hyderabad Hotshots emerged as winners by defeating Awadhe Warriors in the finals.

Controversies Controversies linked with IBL 2013

One of the major setbacks in IBL 2013 was that the international players were not rewarded with their pay on time.

A life ban was recommended for the player Jwala Gutta accusing her of compelling her team mates to commit an act of indiscipline.

Another detrimental controversy was the breaking off the ties between sponser- Sporty Solutionz, and IBA due to their dispute.

All you need to know about Jwala Gutta

Resident of Hyderabad, India, Jwala Gutta is an international badminton player. The 14 times national badminton champion has backed women empowerment, anti-tobacco and anti-zoo campaigns, which clearly reflects her devotion towards the acts of social causes.

Changes Dissociation and new unions

Sporty Solutionz is a sports marketing enterprise that was supposed to sponsor IBL for ten years. It organised a successful debut season in association with BAI.

However, they failed to hand over Rs.50 crore to the bank inspite of the ample time that they were given.

Moreover, Das stated that franchises and players were happy with the organisation of event directly by the association.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

26 Sep 2015Indian Badminton League back after 2 years

26 Sep 2015Transformation of Indian Badminton League

Indian Badminton League will now be organised by the Badminton Association of India.

Chennai is all set to replace Pune so as to include one city from one state; Mumbai will still stay the part of league.

Salary of players is going to be upgraded from the existing Rs.1.5 crore.

Bollywood celebrities are expected to join in order to add glamour to the sport.

3 Dec 2015IBL to be renamed as Premier Badminton League (PBL)

The Badminton Association of India has announced that the Indian Badminton League (IBL) will now be known as the Premier Badminton League (PBL).

This "well thought out" decision has come in the midst of BAI's ongoing legal-battle against their former commercial partners-Sporty Solutionz.

The League will be held from 2 -17 Januaru 2016; most badminton associations have agreed to send their players.

15 Jan 2016PBL semifinals: Delhi and Mumbai reach finals

The 2016 PBL was participated by 6 teams: Awadhe Warriors, Bengaluru Topgun, Delhi Acers, Hyderabad Hunters, Mumbai Rockets and Chennai Smashers.

For the semi-finals held on 15 January, Delhi Acers clashed with the Chennai Smashers and clenched a 4-3 victory over the latter.

Mumbai Rockets defeated Awadhe Warriors (3-1) to reach the finals.

The two titans were to face each other in Delhi.

18 Jan 2016Delhi Acers wear the PBL crown; defeat Mumbai Rockets

Delhi Acers' won the PBL title; their British-import Rajiv Ouseph defeated R.M.V. Gurusaidutt of Mumbai Rockets in the tie-decider of the Premier Badminton League final.

The win means a Rs.3 crore in Delhi Acers' lap while Mumbai got to take home Rs.2 crore out of the total Rs.6.5 crore prize money.

Delhi Acers' Tommy Sugiarto won the 8th singles match, remaining undefeated this season.