Rafael Nadal beats Dominic Thiem to win the Madrid Open

15 May 2017 | By Vijaya
Rafael Nadal's unbeaten run on clay

Rafael Nadal continued his season's unbeaten run on clay by winning yet another title at the Mutua Madrid Open. It is his third straight title after Monte Carlo and Barcelona titles.

He won his 5th Madrid title by defeating Dominic Thiem 7-6 (10-8), 6-4, in the final.

This was a 15th straight victory on clay for the Spaniard and a 72nd career title.

In context: Rafael Nadal's unbeaten run on clay

Tournament summaryMutua Madrid Masters

Madrid Open is a 1000 Masters tournament part of the ATP World Tour.

It moved from hard court to the current clay surface in 2009.

The 2016 edition was won by Novak Djokovic while Rafael Nadal won it the most number of times (5 - including the 2017 win).

This season the tournament was held from 7-14 May, with a prize money of €5,439,350.

Road to finalRafa's opponents on way to Madrid title

Rafa Nadal entered the Madrid Open draw as a fourth seed behind Andy Murray, Novak Djokovic, and Stan Wawrinka.

On his way to the final, he beat Fabio Fognini in Round of 32, Nick Kyrgios in Round of 16, and David Goffin in the quarter-finals.

He then took down reigning French Open champion Djokovic in Semis 6-2, 6-4, to enter the final.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

15 May 2017Rafael Nadal beats Dominic Thiem to win the Madrid Open

Ties with Novak for all time Masters 1000 titles lead

After the latest win, Nadal has 30 ATP Masters 1000 titles, tying the all-time record with Djokovic. They are followed by Roger Federer who won 26 Masters 1000 titles.
Back in top 4, another clay title beckons at Rome

15 May 2017Back in top 4, another clay title beckons at Rome

Rafael Nadal has moved into top four rankings after Madrid win, replacing Roger Federer as the new world no. 4.

The rank will improve Rafa's seeding at the French Open draw set to begin on 22 May, where he is the favorite to win.

Before Roland Garros, Nadal will compete at the Rome Masters, another clay surface which he championed seven times before.

9 French Open Grand Slams

Rafa has 14 Grand Slams to his name of which he won 9 at the French Open - 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014. The 2014 Roland Garros championship was his last Grand Slam victory.