India's track record in Champions Trophy semi-finals


12 Jun 2017

India performance in semi-finals in previous seasons of Champions Trophy

After defeating South Africa, India have confirmed their place in the semi-finals of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.

India have reached semi-finals 5 times in the eight editions of the tournament, the joint most along with South Africa.

Let us have a look how did the Indian team perform the last four times they were in the semis.


India go down against West Indies

India go down against West Indies

India reached the semi-finals for the first time in the first edition of the Champions Trophy, then called the ICC KnockOut Tournament.

After losing early wickets, the Indian team managed to score 242 runs, thanks to Sourav Ganguly's 83 and a much needed 73 from Robin Singh.

However, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Brian Lara took the game away, knocking India out of the tournament.


Skipper Ganguly's match winning knock takes India to finals

Newly appointed captain Sourav Ganguly played a match winning knock of 141 not out in the semi-finals against South Africa as India put 295 runs on the board.

Indian bowlers restricted Proteas to 200 runs, as India reached their first finals of the tournament.

However, even after Ganguly's 117 run innings in the finals, India lost to New Zealand by four wickets.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Yes, notify me


Third consecutive semi-finals

Third consecutive semi-finals

India pulled off a 10-run victory over South Africa in a last ball thriller in the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy.

Virender Sehwag scored a blistering 59 runs and picked up three wickets to win the match for India, after Jacques Kallis had almost taken the game away.

India went on to share the trophy with Sri Lanka after two final games were washed away.


The eventual champions

After failing to go past the group-stage for three consecutive editions, India reached the semis of 2013 Champions Trophy.

India produced a thumping win over Sri Lanka as Ishant Sharma and Ravichandran Ashwin picked up three-wickets each to restrict SL to 181 runs; followed by a successful chase from Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli.

India then defeated England to lift their second title.

Share this timeline


Cricket Records

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

India in Champions Trophy

Indian Cricket Team

Brian Lara


ICC KnockOut Tournament

Ishant Sharma

Jacques Kallis

New Zealand

Ravichandran Ashwin

Robin Singh

Shikhar Dhawan

Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Skipper Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly

South Africa

Sri Lanka

Virat Kohli

Virender Sehwag

West Indies

Share this timeline

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline