Pakistan defeat India to lift maiden Champions Trophy

18 Jun 2017 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
2017 ICC Champions Trophy Finals- India vs Pakistan!

Pakistan won the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy as they thrashed India by a margin of 180 runs.

Chasing 339, India lost early wickets, as Mohammad Amir uprooted Indian top order. Hardik Pandya scored gritty 76-runs, in a failed attempt to revive Indian innings.

Amir picked up three wickets for Pakistan, with two wickets each from Hasan Ali and Shadab Khan.

In context: 2017 ICC Champions Trophy Finals- India vs Pakistan!

PreviewIndia, Pakistan meet in the 'Mother of all finals'

Arch-rivals India and Pakistan are up against each other, for the first time in a 50 over decider, as they play the finals of 2017 Champions Trophy.

India had entered the tournament as the favorites, while Pakistan stunned everyone with their performances against Sri Lanka and South Africa.

It should be an interesting encounter between the world's best batting against the best bowling attack.

ViewershipWould India-Pak encounter be the most watched cricket match?

Probably the biggest rivalry in cricket, the India versus Pakistan final match could become the most watched cricket match in the history of ICC tournaments.

The current most viewed match is the 2011 World Cup final between India and Sri Lanka, with the viewership of 558 millions.

The group match between India and Pakistan in this tournament is the third most watched ICC match.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Champions Trophy: India win toss and decide to bowl first

18 Jun 2017Champions Trophy: India win toss and decide to bowl first

Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and chose to bowl first against Pakistan in the finals of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy.

With the unused pitch at The Oval, Kohli feels chasing will be a better option for the team, given India's batting form in recent matches.

India have kept the same team as the previous matches whereas Amir comes back for Pakistan.

Indian squad

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (Capt), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah.

18 Jun 2017Champions Trophy- Pakistan score 338 runs in first innings

Pakistan put on a fantastic display of batting as they scored 338 runs for four wickets in 50 overs.

Azhar Ali (59) and Fakhar Zaman (114) put on 128-runs for the opening wicket to give Pakistan a brilliant start.

After they got out, Babar Azam and Mohammad Hafeez took the innings ahead, setting a massive total for India to chase in the big final.

18 Jun 2017Pakistan defeat India to lift maiden Champions Trophy