Want to share with your friends too?

19 Jun 2017

Weird ways of losing your wicket in cricket

The laws of cricket dismissal

Over the years, we have seen several bizarre ways in which the batsmen have lost their wickets.

However, there are even other weird ways where a batsman can get out without even playing a single delivery.

Let us have a look at these weird laws of cricket and some examples of how the batsmen have been ruled out.

In context

The laws of cricket dismissal

The most common ways of getting out

Batsmen generally lose their wicket through five common ways which are being caught, bowled, given leg before wicket (LBW), run out or stumped.

An unfortunate way to get out


An unfortunate way to get out

Cricket has seen quite a few hit wickets, where a batsman dislodges the stumps while trying to hit a shot or while taking a run.

However, there have been instances when the ball hits the helmet of the batsmen so hard that it falls on the stumps, resulting in the dismissal of the batsman without he even touching the stumps.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me


Obstructing the field and handling the ball

A batsman can lose his wicket if he obstructs the fielding in any way and/or touches the ball with his hands to save his wicket.

However, if the bowler deliberately throws a ball towards the batsman, the umpire is at liberty to decide if he is out or not.

Yusuf Pathan, Ben Stokes and Anwar Ali have been given out for obstructing the field.

"Time" out

The umpire can declare the batsman out if he takes too much time to come on the pitch after previous batsman's dismissal. According to the Law 31, a batsman must take guard within three minutes in an ODI and 120 seconds in a T20.

Is it a sign of sportsmanship?


Is it a sign of sportsmanship?

A batsman is said to be 'Mankeded' if the bowler dismisses the batsman at the non-striker's end while he is out of the crease before the delivery.

The term is named after former Indian bowler Vinoo Mankad, who was the first bowler to dismiss a batsman in such a way.

While it is considered a legal dismissal, it is seen against 'spirit of cricket.'

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline