Which players to look out for in 2017 PKL?

06 Jul 2017 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
Players to watch out for in PKL

The 2017 Pro Kabaddi League is all set to start from 28th July.

The tournament has helped Kabaddi in gaining a lot of attention over the last few years, with a number of national and international players making their mark in the league.

Let us have a look at some of the players who could emerge as champions in the upcoming tournament.

In context: Players to watch out for in PKL

06 Jul 2017Which players to look out for in 2017 PKL?

More teams in 2017 PKL

2017 edition will see participation from four new teams, which makes it 12 teams fighting for the top spot. This expansion will give a chance to new players to show their talent. The tournament will be held from 28th July to 28th October.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Iran's ace defender

Fazel AtrachaliIran's ace defender

Fazel Atrachali is a defender from Iran and has played 32 PKL games till now.

One of the strongest players of the game, it is very difficult to find your way out once Atrachali gets hold of you.

He will play for Gujarat Fortunegiants this year and will be a valuable player for the team considering his vast experience.

Dharmaraj CheralathanOldest player in the tournament

42-years old Dharmaraj Cheralathan is the oldest player in the tournament and will be playing for Puneri Paltan this year.

In his previous appearances in the tournament, Dharmaraj has made 258 tackles in 59 matches, 134 of which were successful.

Dharmaraj was a star defender last season with eight super tackles, the most by any player in one season.

Sandeep Narwal- Best defender in the tournament

An all-rounder, Sandeep Narwal was awarded the best defender in 2015. He has 134 successful raids and 148 successful tackles to his name and was a member of the Indian team which won the World Cup and South Asian Games last year.

Anup KumarFormer Indian team captain

Anup Kumar is probably one of the best Kabaddi players from India.

With 307 successful raids, Kumar will lead U Mumba for the fifth consecutive season.

One of the most agile players in the tournament, he is known for both his signature move- the toe touch and his reflexes. He was also the most valuable player of the tournament in the first season.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Manjeet Chhillar- Fan's favourite

Arjuna Award winner, Manjeet Chhillar has been the backbone of all the teams he has played for. He has 170 successful raids and 189 successful tackles to his name and will play for Jaipur Pink Panthers this year.