Agnieszka Radwanska bags 2015 WTA singles trophy

1 Nov 2015 | By Vaneet Randhawa

In the final of WTA Singles 2015 Agnieszka Radwanska beat Petra Kvitova.

This win was the biggest title victory of Radwanska's career.

Kvitova was leading by 2-0 in the deciding set but lost to a 6-2, 4-6, 6-3 score.

After this win, the Women's Tennis Association reported that Radwanska will be ranked as World Number 5.

In context: A thrilling close of 2015 WTA Finals

Introduction The WTA Finals

The WTA Finals previously called WTA Tour Championships is a tennis tournament played yearly at the end of the season for Women's Tennis Association's top-ranked players.

The first of this tournament was held in the year 1972.

The Finals have divided eight singles players into "two round robin groups, and four doubles teams" since 2003.

Who gets to play the WTA Finals?

For the WTA Finals top 8 point gaining players in singles (and top 4 point gaining teams in doubles) qualify to play in the WTA. The 8 players are divided in 2 groups (robin groups) of 4 players each.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Oct 20152015 WTA Finals in Singapore

The 2015 WTA Finals was scheduled from 26 October-1 November at the Singapore Indoor Stadium and is the 45th edition of the event.

The tournament is administered by the Women's Tennis Association (WTA).

Singapore will become the ninth city to host the Finals of WTA since its commencement in 1972 and will most likely host the competition for the next five years.

The fifth most prestigious tournament in tennis

The WTA Tour Championships is the fifth most prestigious event on the women's tour and has the largest prize money and ranking points after the Grand Slams.

31 Oct 2015Kvitova to face Radwanska in the Singles Final

Czech Republic's Petra Kvitova will be facing Agnieszka Radwanska of Poland in the final of the WTA Finals on 1 November 2015.

Kvitova who was adjudged world number five defeated beat Maria Sharapova-five-time Grand Slam winner and WTA's most successful player by 6-3 7-6 (7-3) in the second semi-final.

Radwanska had to overcome Spaniard Garbine Muguruza world number 3 by 6-7 (5-7) 6-3 7-5.

1 Nov 2015Mirza-Hingis take home the 9th WTA title

Tennis sensations Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis topped off a spectacular 2015 season with another doubles title.

The Indo-Swiss pair wiped the Spanish duo Gabrine Muguruza and Carla Suarez Navarro with a 6-0, 6-3 score.

Mirza and Hingis did not give away even a single set in the competition.

This was the pair's 9th title for the year 2015.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

1 Nov 2015Agnieszka Radwanska bags 2015 WTA singles trophy