Pro-Kabaddi League: Know all about the 12 teams' owners

13 Jul 2017 | By Rishikesh Malkhede
Team Owners of the PKL

The fifth season of the Pro Kabaddi League is set to begin soon.

With four new teams added to the existing eight, the league has gotten bigger and better. The league is now spread across 11 states, with 11 franchises.

Let us have a look at the team owners, who have put in big money in the game.

In context: Team Owners of the PKL

13 Jul 2017Pro-Kabaddi League: Know all about the 12 teams' owners

Bengal WarriorsFuture Group owned by Kishore Biyani

Based out of Kolkata, the Bengal Warriors is owned by the Future Group - Big Bazaar.

Although they are one of the first teams to be included in the League, Bengal Warriors have not found success in the last four seasons.

Along with the Government of West Bengal, CEO of Future Group, Kishore Biyani started grassroot level program for development of Kabaddi.

Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.
Owned by Bollywood star Abhishek Bachchan

Jaipur Pink PanthersOwned by Bollywood star Abhishek Bachchan

Following the trend of Bollywood stars getting into the league sports in India, the Jaipur based team is owned by actor and producer Abhishek Bachchan.

The team was the winner of the inaugural season of the tournament.

Jaipur Pink Panthers are managed by GS Worldwide Entertainment, headed by Sports Entrepreneur Bunty Walia and Juspreet Singh Walia.

Bengaluru Bulls

The Bengaluru based team is owned by Kosmik Global Media Private Limited, headed by Uday Sinh Wala. An independent production company, Kosmik Media has plans of setting up a kabaddi academy in Bengaluru.

Dabang DelhiDoIT Sports Management India Pvt. Ltd

The Delhi based franchise is a venture of DoIT Sports Management India Pvt. Ltd, owned by Radha Kapoor, daughter of Yes Bank founder.

Dabang Mumbai, a hockey team in the Hockey India League is also owned by DoIT.

She is the only female team owner in the PKL.

Dabang Delhi haven't seen much success, with the team finishing in bottom three in every season.

Telugu Titans - Veera Sports

Having their bases in Hyderabad and Visakhapatnam, Telugu Titans are owned by Veera Sports, which is a joint venture of Core Green Group's Srini Sreeramaneni, Greenko Group's Mahesh Kolli and NED Group's Gautham Nedurumalli.
Love Sports news?
Stay updated with the latest happenings.

New teamsGujarat FortuneGiants and Haryana Steelers

The two new teams of the PKL, Gujarat FortuneGiants and Haryana Steelers, are owned by two business conglomerates in India.

The Gujarat based franchise is owned by Adani Wilmar Limited, which is promoted by Indian multinational conglomerate company, Adani Group. The company was founded by Gautam Adani.

Haryana Steelers is owned by JSW Sports Private Limited, which also owns the football club Bengaluru FC.

UP Yoddha - GMR Group

The owners of IPL team Delhi Daredevils, GMR Group, has bought the newly formed Uttar Pradesh based team UP Yoddha. They grabbed everyone's attention when they bought Nitin Tomar for Rs. 93 lakh at this year's auction, making him the costliest player in the PKL.

Tamil TalaivasIquest Enterprises Private Limited

Legendary cricketer Sachin Tendulkar has turned his attention towards other sports post retirement from cricket.

After co-owning a football team in Indian Super League and Bengaluru Blasters in the Premier Badminton League, he is now the co-owner of the Chennai based new team, 'Tamil Talaivas', along with serial entrepreneur N Prasad.

Tendulkar and Prasad are part of Iquest Enterprises Private Limited, founded in 2001.

Puneri Paltan - Insurekot Sports

Mumbai based firm Insurekot Sports Private Limited is the owner of the Pune based team Puneri Paltan. Incorporated in the year 2001, Insurekot Sports has a varied interest in sports and is committed to promoting Kabaddi.

U MumbaUnilazer Ventures Pvt. Ltd

The Mumbai based team saw another producer from Bollywood investing money in the team.

U Mumba is owned by Unilazer Ventures Pvt. Ltd, which is founded by renowned producer and philanthropist Ronnie Screwvala.

Captained by Anup Kumar, the team spent Rs 3.98 crore in this year's auction, the most by any team. They bought nine players with the money.

Patna Pirates - KVS Energy and Sports Limited

Two time winner Patna Pirates is owned by KVS Energy and Sports Limited, owned by Rajesh V Shah and his son Kaustubh Vir Shah. Rajesh Shah is also the Co-Chairman and Managing Director of a steel producer company, Mukand Ltd.