Want to share with your friends too?

25 Jul 2017

Mithali Raj named the captain of World Cup XI

ICC WWC 2017 team of the tournament

Mithali Raj, who led the Indian team into World Cup final, has been named the captain of ICC Women's World Cup 2017 team of the tournament.

While India lost the title to England, Raj led from the front scoring a cumulative 409 runs during the tournament.

Harmanpreet Kaur and Deepti Sharma are the other Indians to be included in the World Cup XI.

In context

ICC WWC 2017 team of the tournament
World Cup Team of the Tournament

England tops the team

World Cup Team of the Tournament

As the name suggests, ICC World Cup team of the tournament selects the best XI players of the competition.

The 2017 tournament winners England had four of its players chosen amongst the best eleven. They include, player of the tournament Tamsin Beaumont, player of the final Anya Shrubsole (took 6 wickets in the final), wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor and left-arm spinner Alex Hartley.

A second time for Raj

This is the second time that Mithali Raj has been named in the World Cup's Team of the tournament. She last was part of the team selected in 2009. Sarah Taylor and Anya Shrubsole were also picked for a second time.

Love Sports news?

Stay updated with the latest happenings.

Notify Me

24 Jul 2017

Who others are in the team?

Apart from the three Indian and four English players, three South African cricketers - batswoman Laura Wolvaardt, and bowlers Marizanne Kapp, Dane Van Niekerk; and an Australian - all-rounder Ellyse Perry, were selected to be a part of the team of tournament.

Further, English player Natalie Sciver who took 7 wickets and scored 369 runs, was selected as the 12th player.

Who chose the team?

The 2017 team was selected by a panel of five - ICC General Manager Geoff Allardice, former West Indies player Ian Bishop, former England captain Charlotte Edwards, former Indian player turned journalist Snehal Pradhan, and former Aussie all-rounder Lisa Sthalekar.

Ask NewsBytes
User Image

Next Timeline